Tire Problem

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by tomasmaria6, Jun 25, 2020.

1. tomasmaria6

tomasmaria6 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello guys

I have equiped my BMW R1100 Gs 1994 with Mitas E-08 110-80-19 and 150-70-17.
    This happened 4 months ago, since then both tires loose pressure.
    Has this ever happened to you with Mitas? Its my first time with this brand, so far so good, but they are loosing a lot of pressure.

In 48 h they lost from 2.3 front 2.7 back down to 1.9 front and 2.2 back, with bike in garage. Even my mechanic doesnt know what to do. He said there was no perfuration on the tires, i have heard about some faulty tires loosing pressure from the sides, i wonder if the mounting wasnt the best...

Thank you
  2. shrederscott

shrederscott Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hi

I suggest you try one small bottle of Stan's tire sealant in each tire.

This is stuff used by mountain bike riders in their no tubes setup ... Also used by a lot of Moto riders using the tubliss system.

It should quickly seal you slow leak.

Good luck

Scott
    Chillis likes this.
  3. tomasmaria6

tomasmaria6 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    That is the only idea going trough my mind at this point

Thank you Scott. Thing is, when i change tires again, if i choose Mitas i guess i should buy another bottle of tire sealant XD.
    I would not make the same mistake twice, never Mitas again
  4. RonKZ650

RonKZ650 Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hopefully you didn't use dish soap as a lube? If you did, that is the cause.
    Bultaco206 likes this.
  5. tomasmaria6

tomasmaria6 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I didnt. Why do you say that? What do you recommend?
    I have seen some suggestions of using it in this tires here in the foruns actually
  6. CROSSBOLT

CROSSBOLT Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Why on earth would you say that? Please share what exactly happens when you use dish detergent to lube a tire mount.
    Dan Diego and tomasmaria6 like this.
  7. RonKZ650

RonKZ650 Long timer