1. eNewsletter Sign Up

To Death Valley and Back Again

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by nickfromdc, Mar 9, 2020.

1. nickfromdc

nickfromdc Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello gang!

This is my first attempt at a ride report. Im more of a photographer than a writer, but I will do my best.

A few months ago I sold my friend my Tiger 1200XC, I gave him a good deal, but he had to agree to go adventuring with me whenever we could both make it work. My wife isn't crazy about me going on long rides solo, so this was key.

Finally we were able to make some time and carved out two days this past weekend to make a quick overnight run to Death Valley. We left my place in LA on Saturday morning and hit the road.

image.jpg

The bikes are getting ready.
    Friend: 2014 Triumph Tiger 1200XC - stock
    Me: 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 - Bar Risers, Fly Screen, GP Racing front Cartridges, Ohlins Rear, Conti replica exhaust, airbox delete, custom ECU tune, Oberon Clutch slave, Pazzo levers, and more - I hooked this thing up, she hauls!

Screen Shot 2020-03-09 at 10.54.28 AM.png

Here is roughly the route we took.

We started north out of LA and plowed it on the highway up to Santa Clarita. My Ducati actually makes a pretty solid tourer and adventurer, but the little Dart flyscreen on the highway is no fun. Me and the Duc vs. the wind was very much a theme of the trip.

In Santa Clarita we jumped off the highway hit the San Francisquito Canyon Road. I've been wanting to explore this area for a while, its so close to my house and supposed to be gorgeous. It did not disappoint. The riding was incredible. No pictures from this section, was having way too much fun on the bike to stop.

[​IMG]

Heres a pic from google, missing here are all the epic twisties!

Lots of big sweepers through beautiful horse country and rolling green hills. Beautiful, fun, fast riding.