Toolbox w/Brooks Panniers

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Toomanysecrets, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. Toomanysecrets

    Toomanysecrets Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Oddometer:
    34
    Location:
    NorCal
    Hey everybody. I’ve settled on a full set of Brooks luggage for my new 1250 GSA. You really can’t beat the value on them, but I do have a question: is anyone running a tool box with them? From the picture/video evidence I can find, it doesn’t look like the TT box will work with the Brooks mounting system.

    I know I can just keep the tools in one of the panniers, but I like the idea of a separate container to offer that extra storage space.

    I appreciate any insight anyone might have. Thanks much!
    #1
  2. igi2003

    igi2003 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    84
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    IMG_20190525_172316.jpg

    Attached Files:

    #2
  3. JimVonBaden

    JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid! Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    85,444
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    Same application as the Bumots. Toolbox from Aliexpress for $90.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #3
    wabtklr likes this.
  4. Toomanysecrets

    Toomanysecrets Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Oddometer:
    34
    Location:
    NorCal
    Wow that FAST! Thank you very much! Would you mind sharing which tool box that is? I also notice that it’s slightly canted inward to account for the bottom mounts of the Brooks. Did you have to remove the rear mud guard like with the TT tool box install?

    Much appreciated!
    #4
  5. Toomanysecrets

    Toomanysecrets Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Oddometer:
    34
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    JimVonBaden likes this.
  6. JimVonBaden

    JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid! Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    85,444
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
  7. Toomanysecrets

    Toomanysecrets Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Oddometer:
    34
    Location:
    NorCal
    I hadn’t even made it to typing in the search on Aliexpress when I saw your next reply pop up! Ordered.

    Thank you VERY much!
    #7
    JimVonBaden likes this.
  8. igi2003

    igi2003 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    84
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    I didn't remove anything.
    #8
  9. shrini23

    shrini23 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    162
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Can anyone confirm if this is a straight fit on touratech racks
    #9
  10. johnwoodsrides

    johnwoodsrides Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    404
    Location:
    E-town, PA
    Just ordered one from Etsy to fit on my GSA pannier racks, (standard GS but GSA racks), with coupon I got it for $68 shipped. Wasn’t looking for a tool box but happened on this thread and had some money in my PayPal account. Damn farkles.....

    Coming from China, probably get it in a month or so.
    #10
    JimVonBaden likes this.
  11. johnwoodsrides

    johnwoodsrides Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    404
    Location:
    E-town, PA
    CC125D81-0CB2-4770-B09E-E61A24C91399.jpeg

    Box arrived but mounting holes were drilled wrong, can’t get it mounted level.
    #11
  12. bobthekelpy

    bobthekelpy Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Oddometer:
    62
    Location:
    MELBOURNE
    Any issues known of the tool box hitting the rear wheel mud guard or swingarm? I'm on a low suspension '15 GSA
    #12
  13. JimVonBaden

    JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid! Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    85,444
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    Yup, you need to recenter the forward mount. I have done it a few times. 20180120_132746.jpg
    #13
  14. Ranko

    Ranko Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Montenegro
    Has anyone successfully installed such a toolbox on the R1200GSA, 2012, camhead model?
    #14
  15. NorskieRider

    NorskieRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,084
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'm thinking of fitting one of these on my AT with the Tusk racks.

    EDIT: Can one of you take measurements of the box? LxWxH ? Those specs are not on the aliexpress page.
    #15
  16. JimVonBaden

    JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid! Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    85,444
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    I'm pretty sure that AliExpress has one made for your model.
    #16