Toyhauler build fiasco....now with more fiasco.

Discussion in 'Shiny Things' started by Cbody, Mar 27, 2017.

1. Cbody

Cbody pretentious redneck Supporter

Oddometer:
    I'm going to attempt to go against my nature and actually document an ongoing project. You'll be witness to what will appear in all likelihood to be a catastrophe in the making.

An engineer by trade with an unlimited budget is not what I am, this will be a wing-and-a-prayer type operation that will likely make the talented and OCD among you cringe.

I've been wanting to put together something to haul bikes around with, something to make the 400 mile trek to more interesting bits of the country more comfortable when it's 40 degrees and raining. I've been poking away at a '95 International school bus for a couple years in fits and spurts making little to no headway. It seemed ideal with a mechanical P-pump DT466 and manual transmission and I'd even conned my better half into lending a hand.
    [​IMG]

Alas, as quite a few of my plans are wont to do, a bit of a distraction came upon me in the form of a sale bill from one of my Dad's friends. He was buying a bucket from me for his Gradall that he was listing on a neighbors auction. I dropped the bucket off at his place and he mentioned he was putting quite a few pieces of equipment and trucks on the auction, one of which was a 2001 International that he'd started working on in 2013.

He'd showed me the truck back when he started on it so I had a rough idea what it was and when the day came I bid like a fool and gave way too much for an old truck that needed a lot of work to make what I want. As per usual, I didn't think to take a single picture the day of until at the truck stop on the way home.
    [​IMG]
    A crappier photo you'd be hard pressed to recreate. The next day I made amends and at least managed to snap a shot during daylight and slightly less shaky.
    [​IMG]