TPMS replacement

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by BMWBOB51, Jul 18, 2020.

  1. BMWBOB51

    BMWBOB51 Going slower, but bench race faster :)

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    800
    What are folks getting to replace their TPMS when the battery dies. Mine's dropping out intermittently and due for replacement. I bought what looked liked, and described as a direct replacement, but it had no 6 digit code to enter on my 911 to register.
    #1
  2. m931a2

    m931a2 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Oddometer:
    412
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
  3. BMWBOB51

    BMWBOB51 Going slower, but bench race faster :)

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    800
    No help! I don't want to pay $250 OEM price! aftermarket needs 6 digit code to register TPMS with 911!
    #3
  4. BMWBOB51

    BMWBOB51 Going slower, but bench race faster :)

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    800
    Can I use the existing OEM TPMS code to register the Chinese replacement?
    #4
  5. BigIz

    BigIz Odd enough to almost be normal

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    248
    Trying to find the original info -- if you have decimal code for the TPMS, I think you convert it to hex code for GS911.
    #5
    LAFS likes this.
  6. marc11

    marc11 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    512
    Location:
    New York
    Nope.
    #6
    MrVvrroomm likes this.
  7. BMWBOB51

    BMWBOB51 Going slower, but bench race faster :)

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    800
    Is my only option is $250 to the stealer dealer?
    #7
  8. marc11

    marc11 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    512
    Location:
    New York
    No. Install the new sensor and go for a ride. Chances are the bike will self learn the new sensor. If not, you can go to the dealer and ask them to program. For a few bucks they will wake the sensor, get the code and add it for you.
    #8
    Motorius likes this.
  9. BMWBOB51

    BMWBOB51 Going slower, but bench race faster :)

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    800
    My OEM sensor replaced under warranty, but I don't know about the chinese knock offs :hmmmmm
    #9
  10. rdbonds

    rdbonds Breaker of Things

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    174
    Location:
    Dallas, GA
    While I can't speak for the GS911, the MotoScan app used on an Android device can learn new sensors without having the code. You simply have to tell the MotoScan app which wheel you want to assign, then "wake" the sensor using a ~$15 sensor tool for GM TPMS devices. You CAN type in the code manually if you like, but the learn procedure is super easy. I just installed a set on my off-road wheels a few weeks ago. I went ahead and ordered another set to have as spares for my street wheels, since those sensors are getting pretty old. $25 each on Amazon.
    #10
    eri likes this.
  11. marc11

    marc11 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Oddometer:
    512
    Location:
    New York
    I had it done on my K1600, eBay China tpms, dealer programmed it in for me for $30.
    #11
  12. AndyM

    AndyM Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    534
    Location:
    CA
    I just put a Chinese TPMS in my spare hexhead rear wheel a couple of weeks ago. I used my gs911 to put it in learning mode and and EL-50448 activator to turn on the sensor. Easy peasy and works like a charm.
    #12
    Coma likes this.
  13. Bluetooth Tuner

    Bluetooth Tuner Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Oddometer:
    63
    Location:
    London
    They do work, but there is a trick, you have to do one wheel at a time, so put new sensor in wheel go for a good 30 minute ride, and the bike should pick up the number, then repeat for the second wheel, reason being bikes I think after a certain date could only see 1 set of sensors, so you need to do the one wheel trick, and I do not mean riding on one wheel lol.
    #13
  14. Coma

    Coma Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,370
    Location:
    The Emerald Coast
    This is what I did. You can test and load it in space B for each wheel so you know it’s working before going to the trouble of demounting the tire.
    #14
  15. rdbonds

    rdbonds Breaker of Things

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    174
    Location:
    Dallas, GA
    I didn't know if the GS911 had the learning mode. That's what I was using on the MotoScan. Nifty feature, for sure, and works like a charm.
    #15
  16. judgedelta

    judgedelta Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Oddometer:
    418
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Can someone give me a link as to which sensors you purchased from Amazon? I need to fit a set on my Woody's spare wheels. Thanks in advance.
    #16
  17. Lead Wrist

    Lead Wrist Mehr Gelände Weniger Straße

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,102
    Location:
    Zer0-Zer0-Zer0-Zer0
    #17
  18. judgedelta

    judgedelta Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Oddometer:
    418
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thank you. It appears that there aren't any available in the US of A.
    #18
  19. Lead Wrist

    Lead Wrist Mehr Gelände Weniger Straße

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,102
    Location:
    Zer0-Zer0-Zer0-Zer0
    ^^ I'm not sure if there's US source that stocks chinesium made TPMSs but if you do the similar searches on either Amazon or Evil-bay, you may get lucky...
    #19
  20. Coma

    Coma Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,370
    Location:
    The Emerald Coast