Track School Advice

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by ganze, Jul 18, 2019.

1. ganze

ganze lone biker of the apocalypse

Oddometer:
    I am gearing up to participate in a Ride Smart motorcycling school sometime in the next months.

I have a few questions: mostly related to budgeting.

1. I am a novice: I know. I have ridden for a long, long time but need to learn about riding smooth and fast. My question is how long will I likely stay a novice if I went to three of these things a year for a few years. The answer has to do with what kind of riding suit I will buy.

2. Question 2: How fast will these events use up my tires? Will a single weekend event mean new tires will be needed afterwards?

3. Question 3: I ride a 2003 FZ1. I wish I had the funds for a smaller track bike but that's just not in the cards now. Aside of obvious issues with keeping a pretty fast bike under control, are there any unforeseen issues with riding a big, fast bike for my first track experience?

I welcome any other input for a guy getting stuff set up for a track school:
    Thanks
  2. steiny

steiny Adventurer

Oddometer:
    It is hard to say how long someone will be in the "novice " class ...... Don't worry about that -just ride and learn as much as possible.

You will probably get a couple weekends (maybe 3 ) out of your tires.

This is my track bike on Left ( 500 lbs of ZRX ) Your FZ1 will do you just fine on the track . ( it fun passing "sport bikes " )

If you have not done so , Please read the Twist of the wrist books or Total Control By Lee Parks . It will pay off.

Look for a used race suit , You can always upgrade later if you still want to do trackdays later.

FYI , you will get hooked the first time,I learned more on my first track day than I did 10 years riding on the street.
    SmittyBlackstone likes this.
  3. Mtneer

Mtneer Been here awhile

Oddometer: