Training or no training

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by Andyvh1959, Oct 26, 2021.

?

Training or no training, WHY?

1. I know everything I need to know

16.1%
  2. Costs too much

29.0%
  3. Takes too much of my time

19.4%
  4. I get home from every ride, why do I need training

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. I'm anxious about being "observed/evaluated" riding wise

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. I'm not a racer, why do I need training

3.2%
  7. I'm anxious about dropping/crashing my bike in training

3.2%
  8. I've been riding X-years, training, really?

45.2%
  9. I don't want to be compared with other riders

6.5%
  10. I can't/won't do a "track day" because of the speeds or actions

12.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Andyvh1959

Andyvh1959 Cheesehead Klompen Supporter

Oddometer:
    Da frozen tundra eh? 1.5 mile west of Lambeau
    I've been a MSF Rider Coach for 28 years, and an advanced rider coach on the small track at Road America for seven years. I see that for any MSF BRC later in the season, and especially for any additional/advanced training (MSF ERC, MSF ARC, Total Control, Street Skills 1 & 2), its hard to fill a class. We only fill the Street Skills 1 and 2 classes in May to July, any other dates are never filled.

Please read through the poll before and answer any/all questions that fit for you. I'm also open to additional comments as to why you would/would not take a closed course training session, even if it is all done at 45 mph less, on a street legal bike on street tires in regular riding gear.
    AdventureTrail likes this.
  2. VX Rider

VX Rider Long timer

Oddometer:
    You didn't have an option for Training not offered near, and or at a time that was convenient.

Recently several suggestions were made that I take a track day training class.
    When I looked at available options, none available on weekends were near, and the one class that would be near was on a weekday.