Trans America Trail - What bike should I choose?

Discussion in 'Americas' started by Made from scratch, Jan 22, 2018.

?

Which bike do you think would be best for my Trans America Trail ride?

1. XT 250

9.6%
  2. WR 250r

51.9%
  3. KLX 250

4.8%
  4. CRF 250L

4.8%
  5. CRF 250L Rally

28.8%
  1. Made from scratch

Made from scratch Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm a beginner rider who is looking to do the Trans America Trail (East to West). The three bikes that I really have in mind are the CRF 250L, CRF 250L Rally, and the XT 250. May I ask you what your opinion is on which bike would be best for me to do the TAT with? The X-Factor is that I MIGHT have to do this in two parts with the split in New Mexico with a 1,000 ride home on the tarmac. I don't know what kind of whether conditions I'll be experiencing, so I'm terrified of riding on the road without ABS. Here's my evaluation so far. On all the bikes, I'd have plan to change the exhaust, the tires, the seats, the sprockets and do something about the fuel capacity. The CRF 250L Rally is the heaviest, but it has bigger brakes and I like ABS for such a long distance on the tarmac. It also has an upgraded electrical system that neither of the other two have for charging all my electronics. The CRF 250L is the cheapest right off the bat (also has ABS), but lacks the stability on the tarmac and the electrical upgrade that the Rally has. The XT 250 would be the most fun, lightest, best seat height, and most fuel efficient with one less liquid to care about even though I'd have to worry about keeping those cooling fins clean and worry more about the oil. It would also be the least desirable bike on the highway (also doesn't have ABS). A distant 4th would be the WR 250r with no ABS and a crappy seat height as I'm not that tall. I'm aware that the WR 250r has the same seat height as the two CRFs, but the CRFs sink a bit more after I sit on it, and they have ABS. And a 5th bike that I'm considering is the 2018 KLX 250 (