Trip planning - 5 days out of KL

Discussion in 'Asia' started by 4Skins, Aug 14, 2019.

1. 4Skins

4Skins Johnny to most...

Oddometer:
    Hey Malaysian Adventurers. I'll be coming up from NZ to the Sepang MotoGP in November. I've given myself 5 days before the GP to explore the country around KL. Wanting to hire a 150cc bike and travel light with just a backpack and not too much planning. Am staying near KL Sentral station and wanting to start riding Sun 27th Oct and return Thurs 31st.

Any advice on bike hire and route planning would be appreciated. Probably wanting to do max 200km per day. I have lots of riding experience both on and off-road so anything is possible.

Johnny '4Skins' Forsyth
    Wellington NZ
    KTM790R Adv
  2. alijanah

alijanah Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi

I don't have experience renting 150cc bikes in West Malaysia but I guess googling them should give you plenty of choices compared to renting bigger capacity bikes. West Malaysia have excellent road system with huge major highways equipped with numerous rest stops. Smaller village roads are also excellent to be honest. The smaller bikes ride on the left most inner lane next to the edge of the major highway as the speed differential are quiet big. Cars are usually driven at a fast rate of speed on the major highways (except on speed camera zone which are posted well way in advance). The best thing is motorcycle do not pay highway tolls and also bridge tolls (going into Penang Bridge). You will find dedicated motorcycle lane on the left most side and proceed through.