Trying to decide r80g/s or 1150gsa for Norway/Iceland trip

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by steelerd, Aug 1, 2020.

1. steelerd

steelerd Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hey everyone hope we are all well :)

Bit about me 31 6'2 32 inch inside leg an 14 stone. Now the specs are outta the way I'm trying to decide on the bike for my dream trip to Norway an Iceland which I'm hoping to do with dad. He will probably end up going for the same bike I do.

Anyway so I've been going backward an forward for a few weeks now exploring options Himalayans etc an we seem to have narrowed it down to two bikes. The R80g/s monolever for ease of repair simplicity low seat height an just the fact they look darn cool.

Been looking at the 1150GSA as well which is the bike I grew up watching before I started riding as many did on long way round etc. Love the idea of wind protection on them but when i had my 1200 the size used to do my head in a bit off road.

Curious has anyone gone from the 1200's back to either of those had a 2014 1200gsa te and a f800gs previously. Took the 1200 off road a few times but it was a bit of a pain as I took it down a few things that went past being a gravel road.

Anyone done a similar trip from the UK or anywhere else round Norway an Iceland still planning the route at the mo. Would love to do some of the f roads while over there.

What would you guys do newer 1150 or the older r80 monolever? Anyone still using the 80's for trips how are you all getting on with them same for the 1150's or anyone owned both ? Be ace to hear your opinions.

Both pretty handy with a set of spanners when it comes to working on them I've just finished restoring a few Norton's an run a 650ss as a daily.

Thanks in advance.

Tom
  2. TUCKERS

TUCKERS the famous james

Oddometer:
    Villa Maria Sanitarium, Claremont, CA. USA
    R80 for sure. The 1150 is a big fat pig...I've owned a few. Me....I choose a Suzuki DR650. Do nothing to it except add luggage.
  3. steelerd