TVIP on a borrowed bike

Discussion in 'Latin America' started by Slowest_on_the_track, Sep 8, 2019.

1. Slowest_on_the_track

Slowest_on_the_track n00b

Oddometer:
    I will be riding through Mexico for 5 weeks on a borrowed motorcycle. The moto belongs to my friend. I will be picking it up in San Francisco. I am wondering if I can get a temporary import permit for this motorcycle.

Do I get the permit in my name, or in the name of the owner?

I have the same question for Mexican liability insurance.

I have done a lot of digging and I cant seem to find a straight answer. My friend is obviously ok with all of this, and our arrangement is that if I drop it, smash it, it gets stolen, or get it confiscated I will cover the price of the bike. It is an old KLR so there is risk there but not super high risk. If I have to draft up some paperwork I am ok with doing this too as I am a lawyer (practicing in Canada) and can make these agreements look fancy with nice stamps.
  2. severely

severely almost a noob

Oddometer:
    Not going to LEGALLY happen. The registration must be in the name of the person importing the vehicle. How about your friend "giving" you the bike and legally register the bike in Canada, then giving it back to him upon your return. The validity of your insurance depends on proper importation {TVIP}. Good luck.
    Hill Climber and SkizzMan like this.
  3. Slowest_on_the_track

Slowest_on_the_track n00b

Oddometer:
    Thats a bummer. I am trying to make this happen but no luck so far. If he were to "sell" it to me I would have to plate it in Canada. I could transfer the ownership in California but would need to physically be at the DMV in order to register it I think.

Is it possible for the import permit to be in my friend's name, and he gives me a letter of permission to ride it? Or, does he have to be physically with the bike at the border when the application goes through?
  4. JimsBeemer

JimsBeemer 2017 R1200GSA

Oddometer: