Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. Laconic

    Laconic Berserker Nativist

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    26,256
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    Hey Kenny, I've been using one of these Ram mounts with a short arm. You know I don't ride too aggressive, but on rough fire roads I don't see any vibration to speak of and the phone is gripped in there like iron.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    rktman, ohgood and PineLaneRider like this.
  2. kennyanc

    kennyanc Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,774
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Thanks Rick! any problems with the camera? Is that a tether on the phone?
  3. Laconic

    Laconic Berserker Nativist

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    26,256
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    Yes, a tether, I'm a belt and suspenders guy.:D The mount does cut off both sides of the camera field of view, so if you want to use it to make riding videos it wouldn't be the best option.
    ohgood likes this.
  4. kennyanc

    kennyanc Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,774
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    I already have a RAM Xgrip so will probably use that for awhile. I like the idea of the tether though. Any better pics? Does it attach to the phone or the mount?
  5. Laconic

    Laconic Berserker Nativist

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    26,256
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    Yes, I have an X-Grip that seems pretty solid and wouldn't block the camera.

    The lanyard is attached to the camera, there's a little boss for it to the left of the USB port.

    I think the key to keeping the vibration down is to use the shortest arm possible on the mount.
  6. rktman

    rktman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Oddometer:
    115
    Location:
    Missouri
    Sorry if already asked, but what would be a good (cheap) way to add cell service to the Verizon DF pro.
    It would be a bonus to have a better carrier for my upcoming Colorado trip. US Cellular is the best in my local area but it sucks everywhere else..
  7. Eatmore Mudd

    Eatmore Mudd Mischief on wheels.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,051
    Location:
    Wet side of WA.
    Verizon has pre paid cards that you can buy at places like Walmart.
    WECSOG and rktman like this.
  8. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    440
    Location:
    OH
    I'm using Google Fi with a "data only" sim. I believe you have to already be using their service on a phone. It's a good option for me as there's no subscription fee, just pay per usage.
    rktman likes this.
  9. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    426
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ting or FreedomPop?
    rktman likes this.
  10. Chipk

    Chipk Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Oddometer:
    52
    Location:
    Just south of Chicago
    Aren't they both GSM carriers, sounded like he has a VZW phone... maybe Red Pocket?
    rktman likes this.
  11. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    426
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ting will actually work with Sprint, or they used to at least. I haven't used them in years
  12. perrytrails

    perrytrails n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    New Lexington
    I just bought the Verizon dura force pro.

    What brand and size micro sd card do you guys recommend for it??
  13. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    803
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    I went with a 64G SanDisk "Extreme Plus" A2 card. Supposedly, the A2 designation means the card has been optimized for smartphones. I'm not all that up to speed on card specs, but it seems to be working with zero probs. 64G might not sound like a lot, but I've got 372 songs, a few videos, CoPilot, Guru and TomTom Go routes & trks, along with a crap-ton of photos. Still have 40G of space left, along with all the space on the phone itself if needed. It'll be a long time before I need to get a larger capacity card.
    Davidprej, perrytrails and dflow like this.
  14. Don Coyote

    Don Coyote Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,990
    Location:
    Upper Midwest, US
    Huh, the SanDisk "Ultra" A1 card is "Ideal for Android-based smartphones and tablets" and "Rated A1 for faster app performance". Stunning marketing. I've had a Samsung card go corrupt and lose data so have switched to SanDisk. Supposedly the main thing to watch out for is sellers that are delivering counterfeits, especially since Amazon does a great job of confusing buyers about who is actually selling something to them...
  15. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    803
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Yeah, counterfeits have been an issue. Knowing this, I bought my card from an authorized retailer (Best Buy).
  16. TheRealKnobbytracks

    TheRealKnobbytracks Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Casper, WY
    Lots of great and extensive information throughout this thread.
    I've had my DFP for a few months now and to be honest, haven't messed with it too much. The reason? I cannot get it to work in airplane mode even after turning off the other antennas as the OP described.

    This is a new AT&T phone with no SIM card or contract. I have been trying to use the REVER app and even contacted them concerning the inability to use the phone strictly as a GPS unit to use their app in airplane mode.

    Sorry for my ignorance and technology hindered abilities but can anyone please give some sound advice? Have any other inmates found the same issue?
  17. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    440
    Location:
    OH
    Doesn't Rever require a subscription to work offline? I tried it briefly, but didn't find any features worth $50 a year.

    If you're going to go 100% offline, I'd go with Osmand, Locus or similar.
  18. TheRealKnobbytracks

    TheRealKnobbytracks Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Casper, WY
    I'm not sure if REVER requires that but I have the subscription (50% off sale earlier this year) so it shouldn't matter. Also, I have the free Osmand app and still unable to use it in airplane mode. Maybe this requires a subscription?
  19. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    426
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    OsmAnd doesn't require a subscription.

    Once you download the maps, there is no need for data/service/wifi
  20. TheRealKnobbytracks

    TheRealKnobbytracks Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Casper, WY
    Awesome - thanks for the insight!

    Question though: with the GPS enabled and the phone in airplane mode, shouldn't I still be able to track my ride?