Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama
    Post the trp and we'll give it a try
  2. Loadtoad101

    Loadtoad101 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    741
    Location:
    Livingston TN
    For those of you with the att version of phone. I wanted to temporarily use my AT&T duraforce Pro as a phone to use data on my current trip across the country. I stopped at Walmart and bought a Straight Talk SIM card. The phone guy there installed it and got the calling feature to work. Later on trip I tried to use the data and could not connect to the internet. After several frustrating days trying to get data to work I discovered after stopping at an AT&T store, that the Straight Talk SIM card will not work for data. $50 thrown down the drain. The AT&T rep said that that SIM card from Straight Talk worked with their old cell phone service but now they have new towers LTE 4 and that's the rub.
    Update: rep at the AT&T store was lying to me, found an article on the web called APN settings for dummies, folslowed their instructions and I now have 4G LTE
  3. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,807
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    lol.... Been using some brand of GPS since about 1980 - I'm very of what a gpx file is and the information it contains. My comment was just referring to the mass confusion created by all the different programs/apps usage of the terms Route and Track. The terms are pretty much useless now when trying to help or describe issues - as this very thread has proved. :)
  4. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama

    Hmm... sounds bogus to me. Generally speaking the straight talk customer service is horrible best, and IF you can get a person that actually knows anything their system only updates every 15-30 minutes, so you have to waste hours calling back when they still haven't setup your account

    But att should have known better, and changed your APN to get data working. Maybe there sick of fixing straight talk stuff for free ?

    If you look on forums you'll probably find how to do it.
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama
    I got another pro Kyocera...

    This one is MINT

    Make sure to fully wipe yours before you start loading applications... it will FLY after a couple wipes !
    Eatmore Mudd and Sonny S. like this.
  6. Glenn247

    Glenn247 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,099
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA
    I can't seem to post up a .trp file. Only gpx files seem to be available to post up
    ohgood likes this.
  7. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,470
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    This should give you a clue as to the usability of the .trp files and the parent program.
    ohgood likes this.
  8. lkraus

    lkraus Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,309
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    I think the Xenforo software that advrider.com runs on is set up to allow uploading only files with the .gpx file extension and certain picture formats. You might be able to work around that by renaming the .trp extension to .gpx and noting in your post that the extension needs to be changed back. Both .trp and .gpx files are just text.
    AugustFalcon likes this.
  9. EZ-D

    EZ-D Davidprej Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,095
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    I currently use my Samsung Galaxy 8s Active (not sure I got all that right) and RidewithGPS.com. But I've been monitoring this site to see if I want to go with a Kyocera. My feeling is, do I really want another phone to deal with? I'm a KISS type of guy and planning my routes on RidewithGPS is MUCH simpler than anything I'm reading here (plan in Furkot, download as gpx, import to ...blah, blah) and then I've only got one phone to worry about. I can see it fine in the sunlight, though not perfect. I don't ride offroad, but it does all I need it to do very easily. Is there something I'm missing about the attraction of the Kyocera?
  10. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama
    They're really cheap and really really tough.
    JagLite and EZ-D like this.
  11. Loadtoad101

    Loadtoad101 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    741
    Location:
    Livingston TN
    Thanks for that info, I'll Google that and see if I can find something.
  12. Loadtoad101

    Loadtoad101 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    741
    Location:
    Livingston TN
    Thank you ohgood, I took your advice and searched Google. Found an article called APN settings for dummies. I followed their instructions and bada boom bada bing I got four 4g LTE. :rilla Knuckle head at att store store was lying to me.
  13. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama

    Sweet!

    Roll on!
    Sonny S. likes this.
  14. nznick

    nznick n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2
    Hi there i'm a n00b on here. I'm off to Europe in a couple of months for a 5 week road trip, i've bought a Kyocera phone after reading this and I wondered why no-one seems to be using google maps as a gps, anyone have an answer for that?
    philipbarrett likes this.
  15. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,470
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Google works great for A-B stuff when you have signal (I know you can download maps, but its not really user friendly, imho). The offline apps like Guru, OsmAnd, and Locus I use for following tracks (just a line on a map) of trips I've planned and when signal is questionable.
  16. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama
    If you change the file extension from trp to gpx it will post
  17. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,250
    Location:
    alabama
    Google maps is great with an internet connection, but extremely limited without. Basically you can have one route showing , and one map type.

    The other applications that were made for offline user have a lot more features
    Biff's R, JagLite and Eatmore Mudd like this.
  18. Ranko

    Ranko Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    23
    Location:
    Montenegro
    You can download your maps in offline mode in Google Maps and have your maps working without Internet connection.

    Probably you know that?

    Or other maps still have more features available in offline regim?
  19. Eatmore Mudd

    Eatmore Mudd Mischief on wheels.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,168
    Location:
    Wet side of WA.
    Imho Goog map can be useful as a fall back or safety net for the Garmin and Tom Tom folks who are easing into Android Nav apps.
    ohgood likes this.
  20. TripleTriples

    TripleTriples Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1,936
    Location:
    OH
    I use it quite a bit. I've got a data only sim card in my DF.

    I use Locus for following tracks and Gmaps/Waze when I'm navigating somewhere.