Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. EZ-D

    EZ-D Davidprej Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,090
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    JagLite likes this.
  2. dflow

    dflow Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    899
    Location:
    SW of STL
    This https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-HOL-PD3U with RAM ball mount. Use the short RAM connecting arm (not sure what they call it). The longer ones tend to cause shifting/movement of the phone in rough stuff.
    JagLite and PineLaneRider like this.
  3. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,780
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    EZ-D likes this.
  4. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,248
    Location:
    alabama
    I know this looks too easy, too cheap... but they've survived lots of crashes (the flex instead of breaking)

    https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Bi...9Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=

    5154o0L+FkL._AC_SY400_.jpg

    I prefer mounts that don't damage the phone or themselves in crashes. They just move/flex and keep holding it tight.

    Oh ya, since there aren't any hard parts, there is very little vibration transferred, if any.

    $11 shipped
    Eatmore Mudd, JagLite and EZ-D like this.
  5. Kelsen

    Kelsen n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Oddometer:
    7
    Location:
    bozeman, mt
  6. EZ-D

    EZ-D Davidprej Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,090
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    I had one like that, but without the safety web and, as you say, it threw my phone (luckily) into my lap a couple of times.

    I now use this - https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-B-149Z-PD3U You can get it without the RAM arm for cheaper. What I like about it is, it's easy-in, easy-out, it will not fall out, and you can adjust the side posts so they don't push the phone's buttons.
  7. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    49,463
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    I really wanted this to work but I have so much crap on my bars there was simply no room for it. :(
    JagLite and ohgood like this.
  8. Eatmore Mudd

    Eatmore Mudd Mischief on wheels.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,167
    Location:
    Wet side of WA.
  9. slartidbartfast

    slartidbartfast Life is for good friends and great adventures Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Oddometer:
    13,749
    Location:
    Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
    It still lasts very, very well.
  10. Eatmore Mudd

    Eatmore Mudd Mischief on wheels.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,167
    Location:
    Wet side of WA.
    I'm pretty sure there's a number sequence you can enter on thatthe dial pas that turns off the phones cellular radio. Iirc it was talked about a couple times earlier in this thread. Exactly what pages I don't know so you'll have to do a search.
  11. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,998
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    You mean like what's in the OP in this very thread?
  12. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,248
    Location:
    alabama
    ya i bought one of those and realized when i opened the package that the rubber band was what was really securing the phone... returned it and went with a silicon mount (really just another rubber band) for $11 instead.
    Kelsen likes this.
  13. Glenn247

    Glenn247 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,073
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Yea, I was able to get the cell radio turned off using that code mentioned way back in this thread.

    Here's my issue. The gpx tracks file I made in furkot is showing up in Gaia, Locus, and Guru but OsmAnd will not read it for some reason. OsmAnd will read other gpx tracks I've downloaded such as the MABDR but not the one I made in Furkot, even though the one I made works in other apps.

    Here it is; please let me know why I OsmAnd will not recognize it; thanks!

    Attached Files:

    Eatmore Mudd likes this.
  14. gavmac

    gavmac Long timer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Boonah, Qld, AU
    Well, I couldn't open it in OsmAnd either, I had a look at the raw GPX data, couldn't see anything obvious so tried running it through GPSVisualizer https://www.gpsvisualizer.com/convert_input

    I set it as GPX output, that file opened ok in OsmAnd if it was three distinct segments with gaps in between!

    Attached Files:

  15. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,248
    Location:
    alabama
    That would be my guess.... Osmad really likes continuous tracks
  16. binaryplease

    binaryplease Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Germany
    So is the Pro still the recommendation overall or has there been an update?
    Also, anyone knows where to get this phones in Germany/Europe? I can't find much offers and they seem very overpriced here
    Eatmore Mudd likes this.
  17. Glenn247

    Glenn247 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,073
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Thanks. So the file you posted should open in OsmAnd for me?
  18. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,780
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    I've had great luck with Swappa. Are you able to use/order from this site?

    https://swappa.com/buy/kyocera-duraforce-pro
  19. Dread

    Dread Putt-Putt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    756
    Location:
    Boise, ID
  20. ThomasD

    ThomasD Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    153
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Bought mine from ebay.com - Swappa only sells to US customers. Took a seller who offered shipping with the ebay international shipping program. No need to pick it up at local customs here in germany and shipment cost is much cheaper than USPS. I am happy with my Sprint DF Pro: You can turn GPS on in airplane mode (the AT&T need to deal with USSD-codes). Verizon was to expensive for me for an GPS-only device.
    You may have a look at my homepage http://decker4u.de/ausruestung/gps/ - there is some information about my DF Pro in german language.