Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,155
    Location:
    alabama

    I'll try it today, but normally I use full brightness or 1/3 brightness in the woods.
  2. dflow

    dflow Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    867
    Location:
    SW of STL
    Mine does that same thing and it is very random, I have the adaptive brightness set to the off position. I prefer the screen at full brightness.
    PineLaneRider likes this.
  3. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,213
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I use Tasker to control brightness for me.

    If plugged in, and it's daytime, auto is off, full brightness. If night time or not plugged in, set to auto and dim the screen.
  4. Shawnee Bill

    Shawnee Bill Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,507
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Mine does that fairly often, I used to think it was because it was in the full sun and getting hot but I'm not sure.
    I turned the auto bright off long ago and have it set at 100% bright.
    I'm leaving later this week on a few weeks ride to the northwest. I have a Nomu I'm taking as a backup. Also my iphone, and I'll carry some paper maps. Maybe even take the years old Garmin Nuvi out of the car.

    .
  5. slartidbartfast

    slartidbartfast Life is for good friends and great adventures Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Oddometer:
    12,460
    Location:
    Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
    My DF XD does that occasionally. I wonder if it's due to temperature.
  6. Dub_ADV

    Dub_ADV Back in the saddle again.

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Disregard, wrong thread...

    I love my Kyocera though. LOL

    Thanks
    Dub
  7. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    11,207
    Location:
    NH
    Does your's still do it with adaptive brightness off and the brightness level set to a fixed one?
  8. dflow

    dflow Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    867
    Location:
    SW of STL
    YES. I went for a 4 hour ride this morning and never saw it dim this time. It's random so I haven't figured out the cause if there is one.
  9. BaddAndy

    BaddAndy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    276
    Location:
    Here
    Goodbye Garmin 276C thanks to this thread!

    GPS-G276C.jpg
  10. Dread

    Dread Putt-Putt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    707
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    W
    hat mount are you using for it?
  11. Lee Dodge

    Lee Dodge Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Oddometer:
    677
    Location:
    Horicon, WI. By da marsh.
    I'm pretty sure its due to temp. I use fixed brightness and if its on full brightness running a navigation app it will dim after a while and the phone feels really hot when that happens.
  12. Slickrick

    Slickrick Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    100
    Location:
    Seattle, Palm Springs
    Mine (Verizon DF Pro) does the same thing. Also if I leave it on the bike in the full sun while taking a break it will overheat & dim. Really is the only thing I do not like using it as a GPS.

    I currently have another issue I would like to resolve, I am in Italy riding with a prepaid Vonnage SIM card,
    Eveything is working fine except the screen goes blank with the warning message that the phone is now Roaming with higher charges as it picks up new towers. I have to reach out & dismiss while riding. I have used the phone in Baja in airplane mode, works fine, but over here I kinda like having access to data while traveling. I have looked at the menus but could not find a way to turn this off. Thanks in advance[
  13. dflow

    dflow Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    867
    Location:
    SW of STL
    Heat seems the most logical explanation although mine is usually not in the sun and it has happened when the air temps are reasonable (below 80°). Full brightness may be enough to heat it up.
  14. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,341
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    I suspect it's a heat-related protection built-in to the unit. I've noticed it as well, but just tilting the phone or turning off the screen for a few minutes alleviated the issue. Ambient temp was near 100, full sun, and the screen had been on all day. I typically leave the screen brightness on manual control and unless using a GPS app, I tkeep it just over 1/2 power.
  15. dflow

    dflow Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    867
    Location:
    SW of STL
    If I'm on the bike so is the plugged in, screen on, phone with GPS app active. I'm going to keep a closer eye on this tho it's not a big deal. Deer, dogs, turtles and the occasional cage driver that feels they need more than their lane to get through a curve get my undivided attention.
    Northern_Rider777, JagLite and Dread like this.
  16. Dread

    Dread Putt-Putt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    707
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    AMEN!
  17. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,341
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    If you are just using the phone for street nav, it's no big deal to put the screen to sleep during the longer stretches of road between turns. No sense in having it on when the next turn is an hour away, lol. :)

    I've had my Garmin overheat and shut down as well, it's not just a phone thing. If it's a persistent issue, try relocating the phone so it gets more airflow.
    JagLite and Eatmore Mudd like this.
  18. BaddAndy

    BaddAndy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    276
    Location:
    Here
    RAM $16 e-bay

    K mount.jpg
  19. Davidprej

    Davidprej Davidprej Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Oddometer:
    981
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    I have one of those on both my bikes and they're the best. Had the X-mount, but no comparison, IMHO.
    Laconic and Sonny S. like this.
  20. Dread

    Dread Putt-Putt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    707
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Cool, thanks. That was what I thought and what I’ll get. Didn’t know if it would fit, but now I do!