1. ** Enter to win a $250 gift card! We want to hear from you, please take this survey **

    Take this survey which covers a range of questions about improving the community, the things that interest you and anything else you want to share with us. All responses will remain anonymous.

    Click here to take the survey
    Dismiss Notice

Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. WECSOG

    WECSOG Dirt Road Denizen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,007
    Location:
    Just past the pavement's end in North Alabama
    That's what I have too.
    BTW, anyone using their DF as an action cam? My DFP can peep through the slot in the extension of this mount although it is somewhat constricted.
  2. Shawnee Bill

    Shawnee Bill Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,506
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I have used my DF as an action cam but on my list of "things to do" is take my Dremel tool after that slot and open it up for the camera.
    WECSOG and Davidprej like this.
  3. yamyam

    yamyam Rallye of Tunisia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Quebec
    Hi guys, I bought my Duraforce this week and I'm waiting like a kid before christmast! I'm in the same boat and I need someting better than my gps. I past rapidly all the pages of this thread and I would like a feedback of guys who installed and electrical power to your phone. Is't better with the go pro remote connection, the small spring pins or the wireless way? With the connection system at the back of the cell, the pins touching is't creating wear on the contacts? I'm Thanks Eric
  4. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,341
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Eric, some of us are just using the Wasken magnetic cable. Couple guys here have even left it plugged in while riding in the rain! Regardless, you can still get several hours of use off a fully-charged phone, so just plug it iñ when needed. Too many folks are stressing over the charging part. :)
    Sonny S., Davidprej and JagLite like this.
  5. WECSOG

    WECSOG Dirt Road Denizen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,007
    Location:
    Just past the pavement's end in North Alabama
    Yeah, I've thought about doing that too.
    Davidprej likes this.
  6. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    11,199
    Location:
    NH
    Good to know I'm not alone. I have mine sitting behind the windscreen on my 15 GS. Thought it would get enough air flow from the lower part. Might just move it to be more in the wind, though with the temps we're getting I'm not sure much can help. At least it seems to react to that.
  7. Shawnee Bill

    Shawnee Bill Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,506
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Got the Dremel after the mount today, went slow so spent almost 10 minutes opening up the slot the camera looks through. Looks like it will work really well.

    .
    WECSOG and Davidprej like this.
  8. slartidbartfast

    slartidbartfast Life is for good friends and great adventures Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Oddometer:
    12,452
    Location:
    Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
    When you mount it at a suitable angle where it can see the road ahead, you can hardly see the screen. I guess it would work for occasional use.
    WECSOG likes this.
  9. Shawnee Bill

    Shawnee Bill Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,506
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Exactly, on a ram ball mount it is very easy to reposition it so the camera is looking wherever you want. Don't use it all that much so doesn't really take away from using it for navigation.


    .
    WECSOG likes this.
  10. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,153
    Location:
    alabama
    I have an action cam for stuff on the bike, but the pro does a pretty good job as an action cam
    Screenshot_20190731-050726.png
    JagLite, Davidprej and WECSOG like this.
  11. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,153
    Location:
    alabama
    Yesterday I tested accuracy on the df pro. I ran the same (fairly quick) trail forwards and backwards to compare the tracks. The purple is to obscure the area even more than the huge map offset I put on it, and protect the single track ;-)

    The blue and green are the tracks. In the red circled area +/-23 feet was reported (the worst of the day), the rest of the tracks were +/- 9feet and directly on top of each other. This was under heavy tree cover with an average speed of 12 mph with peaks of 20...

    Pretty dang good.

    Screenshot_20190731-051933_1_1.png Screenshot_20190731-051754_1.png
    Albie, JagLite and Davidprej like this.
  12. schrod

    schrod Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    CT
    I can't comment on wearing the contacts, What I did find though is charging through the back contacts is slow. It charges fine but with the screen on and nav running it will slowly discharge (~15%/hr). If you can live with that it was super convenient, I can't so I went to one of the magnetic cables.
  13. yamyam

    yamyam Rallye of Tunisia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Quebec
    Thanks for your feedback. I'll do some trials and see what is the best for me.
  14. dr350maniac

    dr350maniac Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Oddometer:
    229
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I didn't think it would fit either, which according to the dimensions of the mount and the phone, it won't, but with enough people using it, and seeing it in Baddandy's mount, it fits, so I ordered one.
    It's probably waiting on my porch, along with the phone. I'm still on vacation.
    Dread likes this.
  15. Dread

    Dread Putt-Putt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    707
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Got my phone and I've been playing with it setting it up. Now I need to get that mount!
    ohgood likes this.
  16. BaddAndy

    BaddAndy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    276
    Location:
    Here
    I went a little secure mount overkill. Added a few strips of Velcro and a 6" lanyard. The Velcro has a side benefit of giving a 1/16" of space on the entire underside of the phone while still allowing full grip.

    Velcro.jpg Gap.jpg Cradle.jpg
    JagLite and Dread like this.
  17. yamyam

    yamyam Rallye of Tunisia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Quebec
    it's a good idea the velcro! I own the same mount and it's doing great but if you installed the spring section up or down it can open when there's a big impact and the phone will be kick out! This happened to me. Now I put an elastic as a precaution. I like your velcro idea!
    JagLite likes this.
  18. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    48,641
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    I've been using velcro and a lanyard for years now. it will fail after a while though so every once in a while give the phone a tug and if you start feeling it not stick as good, replace it.
    ohgood and JagLite like this.
  19. marret

    marret Transient

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    720
    Location:
    FL and VA
    I now have thousands of miles with my DFP on a mount charging through the ports. It is slow, can get hot, but it has worked and while the pads have marks, I did not get any wear of concern.

    My earlier post about this:
    https://advrider.com/f/threads/ultr...hones-my-guide.1206076/page-134#post-37518094

    If you have a Qi charging phone, another option:
    https://advrider.com/f/threads/ultr...hones-my-guide.1206076/page-144#post-37812402
    ohgood likes this.
  20. ethics_gradient

    ethics_gradient Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Oddometer:
    63
    Thanks for the post! Is there an off-the-shelf cable similar to the GoPro remote I can buy for my Duraforce XD? Have one of those remote cables already from my Hero 3 Black, but unfortunately but the pins are spaced too far apart to line up with the XD's contacts.

    If not (seems likely), has anyone made their own? I'd thought about it before when I found this thread last year, but at the time the only pogo pins I could find for sale were in commercial quantities. I see I can get them from Adafruit or Amazon, but not sure how I'd go about securing them. Maybe use Sugru to create a housing? I don't necessarily care if there are wires permanently grafted to this thing as it's going to be strictly on bike/dashboard duty as a GPS, so I was considering just soldering the power leads directly on to the contact, then securing it with JB Weld, Sugru, or something like that.