Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by PDX Alamo, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,343
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    I think I found the solution to the texting issues I've been having. I've tried 4 different Messenger Apps and ran into the same issue with each app. Was just about ready to try switching carriers and was asking others around work about Sprint, T-Mobile, ect and was told by one person that had AT&T that she was having the exact same issue and just did a Network Reset.

    >Settings>Backup & reset>Network settings reset> "tap" NETWORK RESET

    So I did the Network Reset and so far....... that has seemed to fix the problem. If anyone here is having a problem receiving texts, might give this a try before anything else. Remember to completely shut off your phone for a minute after you do this.
  2. SRTie4k

    SRTie4k Northeast Explorer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,946
    Location:
    Nude Hampster
    Those of you with the DFP2, does the screen dim significantly in hot weather in direct sunlight like the original DFP?
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    it's fall here so Ill have to leave it in the sun to find out...
    Sonny S. likes this.
  4. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've used mine over the summer in 100 degree Texas heat with no issues. It was on my DR650 with no windshield so it got lots of air.
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    I just got move so I can't say for sure yet... but I'll leave it in the sun and check back
  6. road_apple

    road_apple Hit the Trail

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    657
    Location:
    Sometimes here, sometimes there
    So I did the Network Reset and so far....... that has seemed to fix the problem. If anyone here is having a problem receiving texts, might give this a try before anything else. Remember to completely shut off your phone for a minute after you do this.

    Don't know who here run a VPN but a similiar problem with downloading data, pics, files on a DFPro. It came to a head when I was trying to download a boarding pass on airport WiFi and it wouldn't work until I disabled the VPN. Not what I wanted to do but it was either that or no boarding pass..
  7. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    the dfpro 2 was on my bars (in the cheap flexible Amazon mount) the other day.

    I crashed hard enough to rip the bar mounts out of the triple tree. the phone was flopping around on it's tether ehen I tried to pick up the bike, and realized my bars had disconnected.

    the screen was fine after I wiped the compacted mud out of the speaker holes.

    KIMG0586.JPG

    I'm pretty happy with its durability
    dazzadm, Oddfellow, BLucare and 5 others like this.
  8. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    48,643
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Unlike the mount. Geez!
    ohgood likes this.
  9. BLucare

    BLucare What could possibly go wrong?

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    3,409
    Location:
    Green Bay, Wisconsin
    Jeeeeeezzzuuus H. Christ! Forget the phone, I'd be more worried about the bars deciding they no longer want to be connected to the bike.

    :eek2
    ohgood likes this.
  10. 2old2Bbold

    2old2Bbold was 2bold2getold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    5,312
    Location:
    Arlington, Texas
    Holy crap man....you ok ???
  11. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    it still works, because it flexes :-)
  12. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama

    I'm going to have to get along without the stabilizer for a little while, but it's fine now
  13. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    I just kind of walked out of it before it started flipping.... nothing happened to me :-)
    2old2Bbold and Sonny S. like this.
  14. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,163
    Location:
    alabama
    did you seal in your magnetic connectors ?
  15. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Maryland
    On the DFP I use silicone dielectric grease and the magnetic adapter stays in the phone. On my DFP2, being my main phone I have not. I only use the magnetic charging on the bike.
    ohgood, assquatch20 and 9Realms like this.
  16. 9Realms

    9Realms Drawn in by the complex plot

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    6,364
    Location:
    Central Minn.
    I bought a fine, new or like new refurbished Verizon Kyocera Duroforce Pro several many weeks ago to serve as my primary phone.
    I am liking it quite a bit. I was coming from a Note 3 that ran Android 5, and I miss the texting software that the Note 3 had.

    My new Kyocera Duroforce Pro is running Android 7.1.2 and the text/message app it came with was a little crappy.

    I was used to my old Note 3 where you viewed both sides of the text conversation pretty much full screen- and if you hit the volume control up/down you could instantly change the text size for now aging eyeballs.

    I purchased a different message app from the Google Play store that works a bit better, but it puts both sides of the conversations into little "balloons" or squares that make the text harder to read and or proof before you hit send.

    If someone is grasping what I am trying to relate and has a solution, I would be interested. Or perhaps a better Android based messaging app I could purchase and just move on/forward.
  17. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,236
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    You shouldn't have to purchase SMS apps.

    What's wrong with Google Messages (not the messages app that came on the phone)?

    Which feature are you looking for? The volume up/down to change font size? You can probably do that in Tasker.
  18. 9Realms

    9Realms Drawn in by the complex plot

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    6,364
    Location:
    Central Minn.
    Unfamiliar with google messages and tasker.... :dunno
  19. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Maryland
    I use Verizon Message + for texting.
    There is probably something better but that's what I used with my Galaxy S5 and I'm familiar with it.
    There is also the option to chose a " classic " theme so don't have to have all the silly little emojis and themes that are better suited for children IMHO.
  20. assquatch20

    assquatch20 Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,363
    Location:
    Tennessee
    How are you liking the DFP2 as an everyday phone? I'm thinking it's time to retire this old one to use solely as a GPS if it'll hold a charge on the bike.