1. Hey everyone, We’re going to start a weekly email to surface interesting threads in the forums. No worries, you can easily unsubscribe if you don’t find it interesting. If you’re like me, it’s nice to have someone willing to poke around a big community like ours and find the most interesting stuff. Saves time and I hate missing something great. It worked really well when we had someone discovering the best photos for the home page rotation back in the day. And if you have something fascinating to post, maybe this email does everyone some good by getting it noticed. Let us know what you think when you get it. Your feedback will make it better as we go (thread). Thanks! Baldy & rudy1220
    Dismiss Notice

USB cable to hard wire bike cable possible?

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Rcrx21, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. Rcrx21

    Rcrx21 06 KTM 950SM, 04 WR250F

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Collegeville, PA
    Is it possible to just cut off the USB plug and find a red and black wire to tie into my electrical system on the bike?
    Can it be that simple?
    0A6ED88D-8640-4DF0-9B85-386A4FE0B596.jpeg
    #1
  2. Hill Climber

    Hill Climber Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    821
    Location:
    Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ winter
    I think Garmin has some proprietary wiring within the cable... you will probably be able to charge the GPS but functions will be disabled. Kind of like when you plug your unit into a computer.
    #2
  3. Rcrx21

    Rcrx21 06 KTM 950SM, 04 WR250F

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Collegeville, PA
    I only want it to power the unit on the bike so I guess i will give it a try as I have more than one cable. I can also leave enough that I can put it back if I need to.
    #3
  4. Dolly Sod

    Dolly Sod I want to do right, but not right now

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,798
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    USB cables don't typically put out 12volts. More like 5 Volts.

    I think you will let the smoke out of anything that you plug that into.
    #4
    Chaostrophy, 250senuf and kwthom like this.
  5. kwthom

    kwthom Retiree apprentice - willing to learn

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,739
    Location:
    Jaynes Station, AZ
    #5
    Chaostrophy likes this.
  6. Rcrx21

    Rcrx21 06 KTM 950SM, 04 WR250F

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Collegeville, PA
    so what i need to do is take apart a power socket cable and use one of those instead because that should have the step down built in.
    #6
  7. pckopp

    pckopp Aged Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,455
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  8. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,487
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    #8
  9. kwthom

    kwthom Retiree apprentice - willing to learn

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,739
    Location:
    Jaynes Station, AZ
    No, just wire input for the converter direct to battery.

    What @ramz is showing is just a more 'professional' version of what I did.
    #9
  10. Rcrx21

    Rcrx21 06 KTM 950SM, 04 WR250F

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    576
    Location:
    Collegeville, PA
    #10
  11. Retired and lovin it

    Retired and lovin it Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Oddometer:
    557
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    $13 and an SAE cable and your good I bought this for charging my Android phone. Has on/off switch and weather proof cap just buy the fused SAE cable with battery eyelet ends and easy peasy solution.
    [​IMG]
    #11
  12. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,487
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    "Has on/off switch"

    I bought the one with the on/off switch also. It turns off the power to the end of the line which includes whatever you have connected. It does NOT turn off power to the 12v-to-5v converter part of the circuit. If they had only put the switch in the right place.....

    :ricky
    #12
    wbbnm likes this.
  13. 9Realms

    9Realms Drawn in by the complex plot

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,137
    Location:
    Central Mn
    Not quite plug and play, but I have good luck with these on the past several bikes. Has worked with any of the Nuvi rigs I have owned.
    Tap into an existing fuse that's switched with the key, some zip ties, done. It steps 12 volts down to the 5 volts you need.

    $15 and free shipping from ebay

    I like some of the other ideas too and bookmarked them! :clap

    700.jpg


    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Hardwire-USB-Car-Charger-power-cord-Kit-for-Garmin-nuvi-2505-2508-2507-200-GPS/201078181744?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
    #13
  14. DCrider

    DCrider Live from THE Hill

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,272
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Many say the angled USB is the way to go for best connection and to prevent damaging the gps or phone port.
    #14