Using Kyocera duraforce as gps

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Hollywood D, May 29, 2018.

  1. jhfairch

    jhfairch Wish I would have started sooner

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Oddometer:
    46
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    Yes. That is what I do to. I just follow the blue line. No voice or looking for gas. I am sure other GPS apps dedicated devices do a ton more and better but I wanted simple and bombproof. So far Guru has been working pretty good.
    #21
  2. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,041
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Guru Maps for me as well, for pre-planned trips/routes/tracks and CoPilot for A-to-B when I'm lost or just want to get there asap. I use Mappite.org to create the route (Mappite exports it as both a route and a track).
    #22
    NJDualsporter likes this.
  3. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,070
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Just looked at Mappite. Me likey.
    #23
  4. Fubars

    Fubars What would Scoobydo?

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,173
    Location:
    Ventuna, CommieFornia
    Got map scrolling along just fine. Can I adjust from North-up orientation to as-the -crow-flys?
    #24
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,695
    Location:
    alabama
    play around with the buttons on the screen, try short press, long press, double tap, etc...

    your location is the cross hairs
    rotation is the one next to it
    #25
  6. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,070
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Tap the compass to scroll through view options.
    #26
  7. DelHess

    DelHess Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Oddometer:
    521
    Location:
    Millersville, PA
    i'm thinking of getting a kyocera duraforce pro to use for navigation. my question is how does it fit on the X grip? i know it works, but can it be centered on it or do the buttons interfere?

    i have modified an xgrip with a qi wireless charging puck, and i need the phone centered so it charges properly. (or very near centered). this is a problem with my galaxy s7 bc the volume buttons are at the wrong spot.


    Also ... +1 for mappite, I've been using it for a few years now and I love it
    #27
  8. mbmt

    mbmt Lost in MT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    131
    Location:
    Helena, MT
    How does the Gaia GPS app run on the Kyocera? Gaia is my main navigation app and I’d like to run this phone as my dedicated gps.
    #28
    BigFatAl likes this.
  9. BigFatAl

    BigFatAl Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,514
    Just bought my second Kyocera (duraforce pro ) and before I used locus,what’s some other apps that are easy to use and import tracks to ??.
    #29
  10. jhfairch

    jhfairch Wish I would have started sooner

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Oddometer:
    46
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    I have used Rever, Ride with GPS, Locus, OSM, and Guru. All have pros and cons in my opinion. Ride w GPS is the closest to what I want. Great route planning and map choices on the PC. but offline maps were not stored at hi enough resolution and were hinky. Might be fixed by now. I currently use Guru for riding tracks and Bike W GPS for planning.
    #30
  11. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    841
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    It's okay.

    Gaia has a lot of info it tries to fit on the screen so to me it's kind of clunky.

    I still prefer Locus. Screenshot_20190917-070253.jpg
    #31
  12. BigFatAl

    BigFatAl Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,514
    Oh ya I forgot to mention that I don’t have a PC,just iPads.
    #32
  13. TheRealKnobbytracks

    TheRealKnobbytracks Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    19
    Location:
    Casper, WY
    I just did an 800 mile dual sport ride using Ride with GPS and couldn't be more happy using it in offline mode.
    I've tried unsuccessfully using the Rever app so I'm going to stick with the Ride with GPS as my go to.
    #33
  14. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    841
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I hate Rever.
    #34