Using Kyocera duraforce as gps

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Hollywood D, May 29, 2018.

  1. jhfairch

    jhfairch Wish I would have started sooner

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Oddometer:
    24
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    Yes. That is what I do to. I just follow the blue line. No voice or looking for gas. I am sure other GPS apps dedicated devices do a ton more and better but I wanted simple and bombproof. So far Guru has been working pretty good.
    #21
  2. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    813
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Guru Maps for me as well, for pre-planned trips/routes/tracks and CoPilot for A-to-B when I'm lost or just want to get there asap. I use Mappite.org to create the route (Mappite exports it as both a route and a track).
    #22
    NJDualsporter likes this.
  3. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Just looked at Mappite. Me likey.
    #23
  4. Fubars

    Fubars What would Scoobydo?

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,087
    Location:
    Ventuna, CommieFornia
    Got map scrolling along just fine. Can I adjust from North-up orientation to as-the -crow-flys?
    #24
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,021
    Location:
    alabama
    play around with the buttons on the screen, try short press, long press, double tap, etc...

    your location is the cross hairs
    rotation is the one next to it
    #25
  6. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Tap the compass to scroll through view options.
    #26
  7. DelHess

    DelHess Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Oddometer:
    500
    Location:
    Millersville, PA
    i'm thinking of getting a kyocera duraforce pro to use for navigation. my question is how does it fit on the X grip? i know it works, but can it be centered on it or do the buttons interfere?

    i have modified an xgrip with a qi wireless charging puck, and i need the phone centered so it charges properly. (or very near centered). this is a problem with my galaxy s7 bc the volume buttons are at the wrong spot.


    Also ... +1 for mappite, I've been using it for a few years now and I love it
    #27
  8. mbmt

    mbmt Lost in MT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    132
    Location:
    Helena, MT
    How does the Gaia GPS app run on the Kyocera? Gaia is my main navigation app and I’d like to run this phone as my dedicated gps.
    #28