V-Strom Dealer Mode

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by Jamie Z, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. GT_Hawk

    GT_Hawk Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    162
    so where dose one order this switch thingey :D
    #21
  2. simmersonwheels

    simmersonwheels Asleep at Switch

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    132
    Location:
    Canuck Left Coast, Courtenay BC
    09930-82720, Mode select switch, available from yer local happy Suzuk dealer:evil
    Larry, a dealer with the SDS can pull previous codes from the unit, even when the FI light is not on.
    The only way to clear those codes from the memory is through the computer. There is no indication of when the codes occurred, but it does show the order they occurred.
    Good luck!
    Simon
    #22
  3. Zapp22

    Zapp22 ZAPP - Tejas

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    13,881
    Location:
    Tejas Hill Country
    Ron Ayers Motorsport is the one I use: fast, efficient, inexpensive.
    http://fiche.ronayers.com/
    #23
  4. Uncle Larry

    Uncle Larry The most suave of stooges

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Oddometer:
    15,024
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    As far as I can tell, I've only had the one error - C031 - and while annoying, it doesn't seem to be an issue with the bike's engine performance.

    One of these days, I'll spend some more time tracking down the problem so the light doesn't come on anymore.

    But the dealer plug is a cheap diagnostic tool.
    #24
  5. yamak

    yamak Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    wasilla, alaska
    bought one in 02 for a v and have one for my 07 wee, they are a must have for your on the road tool kit, no weight or space, print up a cheater card for the codes to bring along also.
    #25
  6. dtysdalx2

    dtysdalx2 Only a matter of time.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Oddometer:
    26,037
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, MN
    Cheapest way is to grap a paper clip and stick it in the dealer mode plug. Possibly free?

    Most expensive way is to get the Suzuki SDS system software and interface. $800 bucks. Gixxer service manual has more on the SDS. This works the same on the SV1000's also.

    I hardwired a switch into the trunk of my SV. 4th cheapest way. :lol3
    #26
  7. oddwheels

    oddwheels n00b

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    South Australia
    Help my internet dropped out and I can find origin of this Weestrom thread.
    oddwheels
    #27
  8. RockyMtnRoadRash

    RockyMtnRoadRash Useful and decorative

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    876
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    This. Works identically on Gixxers and probably most suzuki FI bikes. I've used paperclip to good effect.
    #28
  9. mrbreeze

    mrbreeze I keep blowing down the road Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    13,319
    Location:
    Tennessee
    great thread - I bookmarked it too

    thanks for sharing
    #29
  10. talldean

    talldean n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1
    That's what's coming up on mine, but no idea what to try before calling a towtruck and garage. Intermittently - every dozen or so turns of the key - it still works, otherwise, stuck dead. Any ideas?
    #30
  11. greywolf

    greywolf Unpaved road avoider

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,406
    Location:
    Evanston IL
    The ignition switch has an electronic part in it so the bike cannot be hot wired. Check the wiring but a new ignition switch may be needed.
    #31
  12. Red Dust

    Red Dust Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    North of Brisbane
    This thread is great and helped me to find out in which area the bike got a fault.
    The other day when I was riding the FI was displayed plus the red light came on and at a later stage the idle went up to 3000 revs. Went home parked the bike and a couple of days later I tried to start it up but it had a flat battery.
    Checked this thread and used the paper clip method which worked brilliantly.
    C40 came up which according to this thread is the ISC valve, probably saved me some money at the work shop.
    Still have to take it there since I got no knowledge about that valve.
    Many thanks!!!
    #32
  13. greywolf

    greywolf Unpaved road avoider

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,406
    Location:
    Evanston IL
    Try an ISC reset first.

    1) Turn the ignition switch to the OFF position.
    2) Remove the seat.
    3) Put the bike in dealer mode. FAQ: Dealer Mode & FI Error Codes
    4) Turn the ignition switch to the ON position.
    5) Turn the ignition switch to the OFF position.
    6) Then, wait more than 5 seconds.
    The ISC valve automatically is set at the PRE-SET position.
    7) Take the bike out of dealer mode.
    #33
  14. Red Dust

    Red Dust Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    North of Brisbane
    So I should not start the bike?
    Since the battery is flat due to this issue I need to hook it up to (in this case) a car battery with jump start leads will that make a difference?
    Also Grey Wolf can I use a normal car battery charger for my battery since my trickle charger does not work or maybe my battery is shot even if it is a fairly new battery?
    This is the first issue in 5 years and 52K k`s but I`m confident it will be fixed shortly.
    Cheers,

    Mick.
    #34
  15. greywolf

    greywolf Unpaved road avoider

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,406
    Location:
    Evanston IL
    You need to have power to do a reset. Jumper cables would be all right from the battery of a non running car unless the bike battery has a shorted cell. A new battery can fail and a short is one way. A car battery charger is too much for a bike battery. You do not start the bike when doing an ISC reset. Follow the steps as written.
    #35
  16. Red Dust

    Red Dust Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    465
    Location:
    North of Brisbane
    Cheers!
    I will not start the bike then, if I have to take it for a spin I need to start the car engine to get enough oomph.
    Many thanks again!
    #36
  17. greywolf

    greywolf Unpaved road avoider

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,406
    Location:
    Evanston IL
    You don't have to have the car running to jump start the bike. A car battery has plenty of power. If the car's regulator isn't holding the voltage down to below 15V, jumping the bike with the car engine running can damage the bike's electrical system.
    #37
  18. allonsye

    allonsye ("lets go!")

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    970
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    :*sip*
    The most useful Vstrom thread ever. Thanks.
    #38
    REALGRAVEROBBER likes this.