1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Valve Adjusting 101 - General "WHY" and "WHEN" questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wiltony, Jul 19, 2007.

1. wiltony

wiltony Will Tony What?

Oddometer:
    I'm new to cycle maintenance. I've been doing lots of reading and reviewing of tutorials, etc. and can do a few things like chain adjust/lube, oil/filter, air, and a little bit of carb work.

This question on valves, however, is more of a general "why" and "when" rather than a "how." I've seen more than a few valve tutorials, and so am confident on how a valve adjustment works (measure clearance and replace shims to spec). But I haven't been able to find a source as to WHEN (other than the normal maintenance intervals) a valve adjustment should take place, and the reason WHY it needs to be done.

For instance, I understand when a chain needs to be tightened and what can happen if it is not. I understand why a carb needs to be cleaned, and what will happen if it is not cleaned.

But I need some help with the following:
    - I DON'T understand how valves slip out of adjustment
    - I DON'T understand how to tell when they might need to be checked or adjusted (without actually pulling the top and checking the clearance)
    - I DON'T understand what can happen if they never get adjusted
    - I DON'T understand how they affect the performance of the bike

Also I read that they tend to close over time, right? And therefore, when adjusted, should be adjusted to the upper end of spec, right?

Please, if anyone can help me out with some of this valve theory 101, and help address my ignorance, I would be so grateful! :bow

(I have a general understanding of how a four-stroke engine works, so you can start from there, you don't need to start with how gasoline is flammable) :D

Thanks,
    - Wiltony (a newbie who's working on losing that title)

(disclaimer - my exposure to tutorials and maintenance is limited to the KLR)
  2. bryantjt

bryantjt Long timer

Oddometer: