Vancouver Island Grand Loop.....Little help please

Discussion in 'Canada' started by ToothDocJay, Apr 8, 2019.

1. ToothDocJay

ToothDocJay Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Cobble Hill, Vancouver island, BC ("wet coast")
    Greetings Inmates, I'm looking for some advice from other Vancouver Island riders with respect to the loop. Though I'm an islander, I've never tried the Grand loop before and I'm looking for some insight/advice.

Primarily I'm looking at the northern route from Campbell River to Sand Joesef Bay, down to Port Alice, Woss, Gold River, and then back to The east coast of the Island.

I've read about the route and studied the maps but still have some questions. On the website it claims a 5-8 day trip, but that includes the southern loop of which a part is simply the Port Renfrew Loop. How long would any of you with experience of the northern loop say you should plan for that portion?

Keep in mind I will be with friends, on Vstroms, and my experience with gravel is minimal, mostly doing less than a 100 km when I've been on gravel.

Road quality overall doesn't look too bad but I wanted to be sure.

I'm also at times directionally challenged, so how easy/difficult is it to find the right road when coming to a fork in the road? Yes we will carry a kmz file and GPS.

Anyone who has more recently travelled that part, how are the roads looking? We'd most likely be going in the beginning of July.

Accommodation; I'd assume we bring our gear and try not to be eaten by bears, but any recommendations with that? Any places along the loop that offer a roof and food or should we just play it smart and pack enough in case we get stuck?
  2. borscht zanetti

borscht zanetti Pura Vida ! ... eh?

Oddometer:
    Calling Gunnerbuck!
  3. ToothDocJay

Oddometer:
    That'd be the guy!
  4. Rossland Rider

Rossland Rider Been here awhile

Oddometer: