Vario case issue

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by TwotterPilot, Feb 8, 2020.

  1. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    Is anyone running the Vario top case with a different set of panniers? I was planning on doing this but after taking my panniers and racks off my bike to ship to their new home I found out can’t do just that. Is there some sort of adapter to be able to do this? I want to keep my top case along with my new set of panniers. Thanks for the help
    #1
  2. Dorito

    Dorito Dreamer and Doer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,354
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well, I am running the vario top case with the adventure pannier racks that hold Wolfmans expedition luggage. No issues.

    [​IMG]

    Can you be more specific?
    #2
    TwotterPilot likes this.
  3. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    I have the complete set of Vario cases on my bike right now but the Vario top case requires the Vario pannier racks to work. I purchased Happy Trails panniers and racks but haven’t received them yet. I didn’t ask HT if their racks will work with my Vario top case. So I’ll ask next week but After looking at the top case base plate it looks like it may work if I had some spacers or something for the baseplate. So pretty much just wondering if I can run my Vario top case with happy trailers racks and panniers.
    #3
  4. Dorito

    Dorito Dreamer and Doer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,354
    Location:
    Maryland
    This is not true. You can install only the top case without any side panniers.

    Have you looked at the maxbmw.com parts fische to see how it is suppose to install?
    #4
  5. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    Never looked at that sight. Thank you! So it looks like I need the rear handle or call up HT and see if their racks will support the top case. The way it is right now, if I remove my Vario side racks then the top case will not work because part of the side racks is what the top case base plate attaches to. Sorry to be so confusing.
    #5
  6. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    What year bike are you dealing with? The 800 or 850... They are different.
    #6
  7. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    It’s a 2010 F800GS
    #7
  8. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    The vario top cases use their own separate (from the sides cases) mounting "plate" that does not attach to the vario side case mounts. If you have the mounting plate it attaches to the flat area behind the seat and does not attach to the side case racks so you can use any side racks you like.

    [​IMG]
    #8
  9. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    That’s what I thought as well. I tried that and it would need spacers for the front bolts in the picture you posted. Now I’m thoroughly confused. I’ll try to get a picture...
    #9
  10. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    D08553E4-EF36-4B30-9992-6718501E62D0.jpeg
    #10
  11. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    I may be wrong but I would assume two things...

    1/ The top case mounting plate from BMW comes with spacers but they do not get used when installing the vario case racks and get binned at the dealer or factory when they install the full system because not everyone gets the full system.

    2/ Aftermarket rack manufacturers use the same mounting points as the factory and therefore they would serve as spacers for the plate.
    #11
    TwotterPilot likes this.
  12. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider I've been lost here before...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    6,876
    Location:
    South Jersey... Close to the Pines
    If you look at the HT web site you can see the racks mount to the same points as the Vario racks and have the spacers welded to them...

    [​IMG]
    #12
  13. TwotterPilot

    TwotterPilot Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    Great thanks for the help. I’m still learning all this.
    #13
  14. Morro

    Morro like a ship in the night

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Oddometer:
    506
    Location:
    Coastal NSW
    From Repair Manual upload_2020-2-17_17-9-15.png
    #14
  15. Morro

    Morro like a ship in the night

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Oddometer:
    506
    Location:
    Coastal NSW
    upload_2020-2-17_17-37-40.png
    #15