Wandering the Desert on a DL650 V-Strom

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by Cro59, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Cro59

Cro59 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Like many of you guys, my goal is to set off in the near future on an epic adventure to distant, exotic lands. That day is coming soon, but it isn't here yet, so in the meantime I'm contenting myself with shorter trips and mini-adventures when I can carve out a few days. This thread will be my ongoing ride report for my trips throughout the desert southwest.

Since this is my first ride report a little background info is in order. First and foremost, I am new to adventure riding, and last year I bought my first motorcycle in almost thirty years. A big reason I'm writing this ride report is to share my ongoing education and lessons learned with other new riders. You experienced guys will surely laugh at some of this things I do or say, and that's OK! We all have to start at the beginning and if I can save some other noob a few bumps, bruises, and dollars, then this is time well spent! Back to the story. I'm not sure why the gap between bikes. I'm a certified adrenaline junkie and, courtesy of the US military, I spent my life flying helicopters, jumping out of airplanes, scuba diving, and on my free time would disappear alone into the wilderness for days or weeks at a time. Motorcycles, especially off road, certainly fit into this lifestyle but was never a priority until last year. Actually, I got back into motorcycles accidentally. I signed up for an event in India called the Rickshaw Run (check it out it is a crazy adventure) and needed a motorcycle endorsement to legally drive a rickshaw. So I signed up for the MSF Basic Rider course and the rest, as they say, was history. I was immediately hooked, and even though I strongly promised my wife I wasn't going to buy a bike we both knew I was lying.

Within two weeks of getting my license, I was the proud owner of a Kawasaki Vulcan 900.
    [​IMG]