West and North (Canada incl. Dempster) - 1972 Moto Guzzi (Video added 08/08/2019)

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by nick949eldo, Jul 1, 2019.

1. nick949eldo

nick949eldo Long timer

Oddometer:
    My 1972 Guzzi Eldorado has been my main travelling companion for a few years now (Trans Lab, Trans Taiga etc.), but a year or so back she developed gearbox problems. No, wait - let's be honest here - I buggered up her gearbox thinking I was a better mechanic than I am. But to cut to the chase - with a fresh, replacement gearbox, new cylinders and pistons, a new oil pump, and a few shy of 100,000 miles on the clock, she's back on the road, both metaphorically and literally.

I'm writing this from a rather nice motel in Roblin, Manitoba. This is the end of my fourth day on the road, having left home near Kingston Ontario before 5AM on last Friday morning. I'm generally heading west. To paraphrase Gord Downie in that terrific bike road movie 'One Week', 'I have Direction but not Destination'. The first day was uneventful, except the darn bike was reluctant to idle on both cylinders and would buck and splutter at low speed. Never mind though, there's not much call for idling between home and my mate Ken's home in Webbwood where we spent a pleasant hour being bug bitten while we tried to sort the carbs.

days1to4.jpg We thought we had it nailed, but as I headed back toward the Trans-Canada highway the Eldorado was spluttering and would only run well if I kept the revs up. 'Oh well, she'll sort herself out when she gets warmed up' I thought. Wrong. I had hardly gone 5 miles when the misfiring got much worse then she died altogether.

DSCN5670.JPG