West Harrison Rd Conditions

Discussion in 'Canada' started by johnnyadventurepants, May 29, 2012.

1. johnnyadventurepants

johnnyadventurepants Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Probably going to ride up West Harrison Rd this Sat, June 2. Can anyone give me the current conditons? I looked at some government site that said: " April 2012: No vehicle access at 64 km due to rockfall and washout barriers." Passable on a bike? Can we make it up to Pemberton? Snow? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!
  2. 250senuf

250senuf Long timer

Oddometer:
  3. Big Bad Ron

Big Bad Ron Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Yes it is open and in good shape.
    Was through there last sunday May 27 I went to Meager Ceek and back over 600ks. There is 10ks near the north end of the lake that is a little ruff. If you are a half assed rider go for it.
  4. tinpusher

tinpusher Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm new to riding and optimistically only quarter assed. Can you describe how tough that north 10k section is?
  5. Big Bad Ron

Big Bad Ron Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer:
    How big or little is your bike?
    If you are going on a big bike, I would say you are not ging to have fun, But on a smaller bike you should be fine.
    (Don't go alone)

Ron
  6. tinpusher

tinpusher Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm on a F800GS. Maybe I'll get some experience off road first.
  7. johnnyadventurepants

johnnyadventurepants Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    My advice is definitely go with someone else. I rode it on a Saturday with a buddy and only saw one other person near the northern part of the lake. There are plenty of recreationalists near the southern part of the lake, but if something were to happen at the northern part of Harrison Lake where there are a couple of rocky climbs, it is a long way out either north or south. And the 800 GS will do great on this road!
  8. Kerschbaumer

Kerschbaumer Been here awhile

Oddometer: