What to ride?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by BAP, Mar 13, 2009.

1. BAP

BAP Formally FYREGUY73

Oddometer:
    First post, so Hi to all. I currently have a 08 Husky TE610 and I am looking to do some touring in Australia. Should I spend some cash and buy a IMS tank, luggage rack, screen, GPS or should I sell it and buy a new bike. I had my eye on a BMW F800GS. What do you think? Is the 800 a good tourer and off roader or should I stick with the Hussy?
  2. 3Rugrs4GA

3Rugrs4GA Long timer

Oddometer:
    Fyreguy....take my advice lightly, as I am a self-adimitted noob here. I recently purchased a F800GS and can't imagine a better bike. I can't and won't compare it to the Husky you currently own, but after a significant amount of research I reached the conclusion that the F800GS can handle most chores with aplomb. No...it's not the best in class at everything, but that's not what you are asking....IMHO I think it's the perfet adventure tourer. The F800GS handles exceptionally well on city streets, rural roads, and highways. Although I have no off-road experience with it, I can judge it's handling characteristics and predict it can more than carry it's own weight on dirt paths and gravel tracks. If you can...then buy a new F800GS and never look back. I don' think you'll regret the decision.
  3. BAP

BAP Formally FYREGUY73

Oddometer:
    Thanks for the advice. I was just watching some of the video of the guy who did the 3 month trip on a older Husky and it has given me new confidence in the old girl. I would love a Beemer but in Aust they go for about $17000, OUCH. For the difference I could set up the Husky very nicely. Another question, Who makes a bigger tank for the Husky? I have seen them on the older models but not on the fuel injected models, any thoughts anyone?
  4. raider

raider Big red dog

Oddometer:
    Hi mate,