What Works, What doesn't?

Discussion in 'Ask Baldy, Blame Cannonshot' started by pilot, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. Anders-

    Anders- 690R

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Oddometer:
    5,024
    Location:
    Швеция

    I too have noticed differences between regular browser and tapatalk - thought it could be some sort of lag causing it (in my case) as deleted posts where gone if looking through browser, but showed up on tapa.
    No big deal either way, with the last update tapatalk drains the battery like there's no tomorrow and I'm not too keen on using it.
  2. ian408

    ian408 Administrator Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    65,956
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    The most recent of yours has something about 1960's scrambling (video), #962. That was yesterday at 3:33 PM and prior to that, December 28th, #945.
    #963 is something from @Zuber. All three are visible and not deleted.

    You might try cleaning up cookies and any cached files for ADV.
  3. Anders-

    Anders- 690R

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Oddometer:
    5,024
    Location:
    Швеция
    Speaking of tapatalk being a little ”funny”; it displays ads (in threads), for about a second and then they disappear not to return again.
    I don’t know whether you advrider admins tuned a setting, but I sure like the magical ad cancelling :lol3 :thumb
    MrKiwi likes this.
  4. marchyman

    marchyman barely informed Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    16,578
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 4.18.51 PM.png

    Why?
  5. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,195
    Location:
    Planet Fucking Earth
    There are a few more than that ;)
  6. DonM

    DonM Do-dah Do-dah Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,061
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    How to post a .mov ? Or attach from a tiktok url?
  7. Hogges

    Hogges Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Oddometer:
    857
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    I am now getting an ad banner right across the middle of the screen (iphone, Safari). Very annoying. Doesn’t go away and makes it almost impossible to read anything.
  8. Rudy

    Rudy Learnin' Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,337
    Location:
    NYC
    Can you post a screenshot?
  9. Hogges

    Hogges Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Oddometer:
    857
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Missed the opportunity. It’s gone now. It did survive force-quitting Safari but this evening everything is back to normal. Will take a screenshot if it happens again. Thanks
  10. Robert K.

    Robert K. Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,984
    Location:
    MI, USA
    Any possibility of adding a 'camping Items' tab in the flea market?
    Rudy likes this.
  11. ride4321

    ride4321 Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,966
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    How about a bike transport thread? I go south in the winter with extra space on my trailer for another bike. I'll bet people in flea market would appreciate when buying bikes out of state also. Even shorter 200+ mile runs could be useful to those in need of transport.
  12. ian408

    ian408 Administrator Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    65,956
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    People often look for transport options in regional threads. Usually, it's for a commercial transporter.

    You could always start a thread in your regional thread with the dates you plan on traveling and make the offer.
  13. chazbird

    chazbird Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    23,809
    Problems using Firefox on ADV rider.

    This started two days ago. Using Firefox the site often locks up, can't use the back button, only quit and try again. Sometimes I'll scroll down a page and half way down the screen goes blank/black, and again, I can only quit the site. This is happening about 70% of the times I use the site, occurring either within a few seconds or a few minutes, other times its fine.

    Using Firefox on any other web sites works normally. Using Safari at the moment, working fine, but would prefer to use Firefox on ADV Rider.
  14. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,663
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    My Macbook Pro was doing the same thing your Mac is doing and they did a couple of upgrades recently. I'm using 89.0.2, now, and ADV Rider works great.

    Mike
  15. chazbird

    chazbird Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    23,809
    Thanks....I'm also on a MacBook Pro. I'm on Safari right now but I'll go and look at the Firefox version I have. They usually send me updates. Or are you talking about the Mac OS? I'm on OS X 10.10.5
  16. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,663
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    I'm on OS 11.4.

    Mike
  17. ian408

    ian408 Administrator Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    65,956
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Probably something related to Firefox causing this. Maybe look in the log files to see if you can find a hint? Also, are you running FF’s beta or the release cycle? That may matter as well.
  18. Rudy

    Rudy Learnin' Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,337
    Location:
    NYC
    checking in here, still having issues on firefox specifically? working okay for me on the tests I just did.
  19. chazbird

    chazbird Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    23,809
    Works good for you on 11.4? Might go to the Apple Store and get it upgraded (have to back everything up first) Using Safari on ADV now, works fine. But I don't like Safari. Firefox works perfect on everything else except ADV Rider. Probably get the OS upgrade and then update Firefox. Or....just kludge along using two browsers until some other failing which will force me to completely overhaul and move forward with something new.
  20. chazbird

    chazbird Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    23,809
    Oops, see above post. (Misdirected reply).