Where did you mount your Go Pro HERO camera?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by hasenwerk, May 6, 2010.

1. hasenwerk

hasenwerk Long timer

Oddometer:
    I've been playing with my new Go Pro HD camera today. Purchased the Motorsport version as I really don't want a camera hanging off of my helmet. I guess with this one I could mount it to my helmet, but I am already a computer geek by trade during the day and don't want to look like one on the bike... :rofl

I attached the adhesive holder to the inside of my black windscreen so when I don't have the camera mounted there isn't an ugly wart visible on the screen. The issue that I am having is that my windscreen vibrates - actually never realized how much it vibrates until I did a test run on the bike. :eek1 Most of the reason for it vibrating is that I had to use the longer mounting arm so the mass of the camera has a bit more of a leaver affect and the click-in position holder isn't 100% tight - stuffing a piece of paper in the click together holder made it quite a bit better but it isn't perfect yet.

I tried locations like above my signal marker and next to my fog light but those positions always get part of the bike in the shot. I want a nice clear shot of the road! I also want to be able to reach it while riding.

Perhaps I am expecting too much out of this camera... the field of view is incredibly wide so that's good, but the video quality is.... yeah it's OK, but don't expect to see any broadcast quality from this as the compression of the image is quite high. It also doesn't like my 32GB SDHC card I bought so I am forced to use an old 2GB SD card and have yet to be able to get anything better than 720p on to it . . .

So... suggestions on the best place to mount it would be muchly appreciated.
  2. BeachMoto

BeachMoto Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    I mounted mine on the little GSA winglet, on the left side. It isn't perfect but it does have a clear view of the road.