White Rim Trail Two Up

Discussion in 'Americas' started by Brian Reiber, Feb 17, 2019.

1. Brian Reiber

Brian Reiber Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hopefully the community can help me with some trip planning. I have been dreaming about tackling White Rim for several years now and this year I can finally get schedules to line up. I plan to ride the trail 2 up with my wife on our Vstrom 1000. I expect it to be a challenge but I hope that my years of dirt bike riding will be enough to get me through the tricky parts. So I went online today (Feb 17th) and tried to book for mid May. Unfortunately there is slim pickings and the only thing I could get was a site at Airport for May 19th. I was hoping for a spot at Murphy's Hogback or White Crack. My plan was to run the trail CC but based on the campsite available I am now unsure what to do. Is it feasible to run the entire trail 2 up in a day and still have time to top and see sights along the way? I don't want to scare my wife by pushing it and I want to be able to allow for plenty of photo ops for her. I figure if we eliminated the camping I could pack light on the bike and we would have more time to explore Moab and area. I am interested in opinions but I am especially interested in hearing from folks that have ridden the trail 2 up.
    Cheers,
    Brian
  2. tellicotom

tellicotom Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    My wife and I ride V_Strom 1000s 1 up and have both been riding dirt bikes since kids.we are not big and strong, I'm 165 and 5'8"". We're not the best riders but we have ridden the Stroms to Alaska, including the Denali Highway, out to McCarthy, the Dalton to the top of the Brooks Range, and the Top of the World Highway. We have done alot of the classic passes in The San Juans on Dualsports and the White Rim Trail on Dualsports, camping at Gooseberry. ( We rode the WR clockwise).