Why no cruise control for 2017?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by hammick, Oct 29, 2016.

  1. hammick

    hammick Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,704
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Anybody have any thought other than speculation why BMW didn't put cruise on the '17 F800/F700 bikes? They are throttle by wire and I'm guessing it would have been as easy as software and a switch. The switch housing has the cut out for the cruise switch.
    #1
    desertdaves likes this.
  2. krussell

    krussell Gravel Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,451
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    It seems obvious to just do it right? Same question for all the TBW bikes without cruise. Africa Twin, KTM 690, KTM 1190, ...
    #2
  3. hammick

    hammick Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,704
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Yeah it doesn't make sense. Even their 200hp track bike (S1000RR) has cruise. Seems like a good way to lose sales to Triumph over something they could have easily and cheaply done.
    #3
  4. Brokebrute

    Brokebrute Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    609
    Location:
    Tracy, Ia.
    I have 2 theories on this. 1st) So that have an upgrade to add in 2018. 2nd) Is that they are afraid it will take away sales from their big money maker the GS1200.
    #4
  5. ytsiwt

    ytsiwt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    28
    Morning hammock

    I have a thought that is mostly speculation. It isn't as easy as it seems to add a production electronic cruise control. I would imagine that BMW engineering was working with the NEW fly-by-wire throttling system getting the gains just right & throttle feel just right up to just before production release lock down.

    That probably wouldn't have allowed enough time to work out the cruise control algorithms for all throttle modes, all tire combinations, & all safety concerns in time to make production release dates.

    Hopefully they (BMW) will have it all worked out by next model year release date.
    #5
    Siricco and good dog like this.
  6. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    14,342
    Location:
    :o)
    Don't worry you'll get it in 2018 and be able to get IR for your 2017 for enough $$$
    #6
  7. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    14,342
    Location:
    :o)
    Sorry I forgot the obvious reason out of BMW policy: because phuck you, that's why.
    #7
    good dog likes this.
  8. Ron Earp

    Ron Earp Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Oddometer:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    First company to sort out a 800cc ADV bike with all the features and comforts of a 1200cc machine can have my, and a bet a lot of other people's, money. Triumph came really close for me with the new Tiger XCa but........chain drive. Close Triumph, very close.
    #8
  9. sorebutt

    sorebutt Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,643
    Location:
    Lewiston,ID
    BMW couldn't fix the snatchy throttle for 5 years with a cable. What makes you think they can do it with ride by wire?
    #9
  10. farqhuar

    farqhuar Human guinea pig

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,586
    Location:
    Islands in the sun, Oztralia
    Maybe because it's a lot easier with Fly By Wire.
    #10
    Loutre likes this.
  11. BygDaddee

    BygDaddee Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    13,395
    Location:
    Bris
    What snatchy throttle, I must have been riding fuel injected bikes for too long now
    #11
    Siricco likes this.
  12. Tewster2

    Tewster2 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Oddometer:
    7,853
    Location:
    DeLand Flatistan
    I only have a few hundred miles on my new F700GS with the fly by wire throttle. Very smooth. It does have a miniscule sensitive transition from no throttle to a TINY bit of throttle but I think I'm just needing to get used to it. I think it will be fine.

    Talked to my salesperson where I got the thing and he advised that 2018 will probably have cruise and it should be an easy retrofit to the 2017's. He's been spot on in the past with his info so we will see..... I've use a simple "wrist rest" for years and have never needed a cruise but you never know....
    #12
  13. Drunk_Uncle

    Drunk_Uncle Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,874
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Off road mode that is only available on the 800 is a retro fit to the 700 with purchase of combi switch, I would have to agree with Tewster. Cruise is in the DME, it should only need the switch housing and a session on the computer.
    #13
  14. yaycep

    yaycep Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Freiburg, Germany
    Plus, an add-on to the wiring harness and the corresponding input pins on the ZFE for the new buttons. I'm just guessing but I don't think the old (current) computer would have the dedicated ports "reserved for future use". So the cheapest, possibly even the only option to retrofit a future cruise control would be simply selling your old bike and buying a new one. Hope I'm wrong.
    #14
  15. Drunk_Uncle

    Drunk_Uncle Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,874
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Max BMW has the part numbers to retro fit the combination switch with mode button and ISTA-P programming. All these bikes are CANBus so no need for pin connector issues. All you need is can hi and can low with a ground. Ride modes and cruise control along with all the engine functions are in the DME. The ZFE is most everything else. Somebody posted earlier that the K in BMS-K was for knock sensor, but all BMW acronyms are in German, not English so if the German word for Knock starts with a K he may be correct.
    #15
  16. yaycep

    yaycep Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Freiburg, Germany
    Yes and no. The CAN bus is just the communication medium between different computers (zfe, bms, dash...) on board, but the switches have nothing to do with it. Every input (e.g. switches, sensors) and output (lights, etc.) connect to a dedicated pin on the zfe (or the bms, as you mention). As I said, I haven't seen the 2017 computers' pinouts but I doubt they or the harness would be future compatible for cruise control.
    #16
    bmwroadsterca likes this.
  17. Brokebrute

    Brokebrute Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    609
    Location:
    Tracy, Ia.
    Actually if BMW was planning on adding it to the 2018's the wiring will be in the main loom already. It cost too much to change the wiring loom. I work in manufacturing and when they do a major update they add wiring for any accessories they may add in the future.
    #17
    ADVwxyz likes this.
  18. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    14,342
    Location:
    :o)
    or they just pop of the cap on one of the existing combination clusters and put one in with the new button, like they did with the fog light add on. should be easy enough to do.
    #18
    ADVwxyz likes this.
  19. doucra

    doucra n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    A bit off topic perhaps but has anyone removed the electronic throttle switch from a 2017 GS? I need to change my handlebars.

    I can't find any screws or any information in service manuals???

    They all show the cabled throttle.
    #19