Why you should use ANR earbuds and review

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by compute42, Mar 27, 2020.

1. compute42

compute42 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hey just wanted to post a vid I made today (with all this stay at home time). On why you should be using ANR earbuds inside your headset.
    it’s a dramatic difference and the price has come down to reasonable levels.
    I’ve been using ANR in aviation for years. MC should really be pushing this more. Hearing loss is near and dear to my heart since I’m a music producer/audio engineer.

Traxx and Suncoaster like this.
  2. panfam007

panfam007 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    My understanding is the ANR cancels noise in the ear... Thus ear drum receives both sound and cancelation wave. It does not protect ear drum.

You need something to physically block sound wave.
    phreakingeek likes this.
  3. compute42

Oddometer:
    I was where you are at 10 years ago. When the technology was first emerging for aviation uses. Skeptical.

It truly cancels the sound wave (in your ear) where it matters. It reduces damage to your ear substantially. This is not a psychoacoustic effect, it physically affects the sound wave in the air that reaches your ear drums.

MacNoob likes this.
  4. compute42

Oddometer:
    OSHA agrees ANR works
    https://ohsonline.com/Articles/2017...-in-Triple-Hearing-Protection.aspx?m=1&Page=1