Will Metal Box disrupt TPMS signal?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Longrider9, Aug 1, 2020.

  1. Longrider9

    Longrider9 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    136
    Location:
    ONTARIO, CANADA
    2014 GSW..my tpms has always activated quickly as I started riding.
    I now have a Cymark tool kit where my rear (plastic frame) pillion seat was.
    I’ve noticed that my tpms signal does not come on until I have ridden a few Kms.
    Coincidence???
    My rear will lose signal occasionally but usually comes back on later (suspect battery in rear is going weak).
    Could my metal Cymark toolbox be disrupting my tpms signal?

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. Lead Wrist

    Lead Wrist Mehr Gelände Weniger Straße

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,102
    Location:
    Zer0-Zer0-Zer0-Zer0
    If you're still with original TPMSs, their battery may be getting weaker and weaker thus the signal isn't transmitted faster...

    It's all frequency operated so it's unlikely that your toolbox is the culprit - ymmv...
    #2
  3. lewisjr1

    lewisjr1 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    5,707
    Location:
    DC metro
    Original tire sensors? If so it's more likely to be the batteries.
    #3
  4. Longrider9

    Longrider9 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    136
    Location:
    ONTARIO, CANADA
    Not original batteries. Front sensor is fine. Rear becomes intermittent and I'm replacing it with tire change.
    Both my sensors would read on dash within a few hundred feet of the bike moving.
    Now it takes about a mile or more for them to read on dash????

    I recently installed an Innovv K2 dual dash cam on the bike (control unit under seat in picture).
    Could this be causing a lag in my bike reading the tpms sensors??
    #4
  5. zeeklu

    zeeklu Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    24
    Location:
    Budd Lake, NJ
    I have the SW Motech rear seat plate on my 2014 and was having the same problems with my rear sensor. They replaced my rear TPMS sensor last Saturday and now it works fine. It's probably the same on your bike.
    #5
  6. Bluetooth Tuner

    Bluetooth Tuner Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Oddometer:
    63
    Location:
    London
    The sensor will travel through plastic and foam seat easier than metal box, however the sensors are in the wheels so traveling upwards, and towards the TPMS box, so like most say looks like your batteries are getting to end of life, or sensor is faulty. :nod
    #6
  7. Longrider9

    Longrider9 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    136
    Location:
    ONTARIO, CANADA
    Took a ride today without the Cymark box on pillion seat area. Both sensors displayed on dash almost immediately as I began to move.
    With box on, both sensors take a few miles to show pressures on dash???? Not an issue as long as both sensors keep showing pressure.
    Replacing rear sensor (only 1 year old) and see what happens.
    Thank you all for your responses.
    #7
  8. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    485
    Location:
    Coloradio
    I have had similar issues on my 2014 after installing Clearwater Darlas and bunching excess wiring under the pillion seat. Also, batteries were getting weak. I replaced the rear sensor and rerouted the wires - that solved the problem.
    #8
    Bluetooth Tuner likes this.