Windscreen suggestsions for: F800GS

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Bashkim, Aug 5, 2019.

1. Bashkim

Bashkim Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hey guys,
    As some of you know, I bought my F800GS a few months ago and a month ago I started to ride it (was doing the driving license in Germany too).

The issue is that when I must go on the highway, it's literally a pain :( A lotttt of wind and noise, the bike gets unstable (I'm a big guy), and I get tired pushing all the time. I really need a windscreen, but I could use all the tips I can get since I'm a total noob at this. I'm around 185cm (a bit over 6ft).

I red some people say the size of the windscreen doesn't matter, some say it does.. I'm lost :(
    And I really don't have the time and money to start testing all the options (the riding season here is not that long)...
  2. morfic

morfic Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    There's plenty of good notes on screens already, so I'll just add some food for thought.

It seemed I cured my problem of almost wobbling with one combination of screen and add on at that particular angle on way to work.
    Then on way home the "buffeting" was back, perplexed at first, my neck flap tapping my helmet woke me up to the fact I had my jacket open.

Clothing and how it's worn makes part of the equation unless you ride behind a barn door to sit in a complete bubble of calm air.

But if you want a good screen, the screen I like a lot is ZTechnik VStream, I have added the MRA X-Creen Sport to it for a little more lift of the air above me, the main screen leads the air mostly around you not above you, as I chose the lowest F800GS screen for my 700 it's the best choice for me as the X-Creen keeps the overall height down while calming the air just a little more.
  3. dpike

dpike BeeKeeper Supporter

Oddometer: