Windscreen

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by RangerJoe, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. JRWooden

    JRWooden never attribute to malice...

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,917
    Location:
    North Carolina
    :lol3

    Yeah...
    We really need to enforce the collect some basic data to go with opinions. At the very least:

    Bike make & model

    Seat - stock or modified height & any additions/modifications to seat (e.g. air hawk / inflated sheepskin / ... )

    Height of rider & Inseam of rider - From which we could estimate the all-important: bottom-of-butt-to-top-of-helmet parameter

    Windscreen make/model/height

    and .................. what else?
    #21
  2. wheelan

    wheelan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    49
    Location:
    Australia
    I cut my original down, mainly the wings that extend up on the left and right at the top, I then went and made a triangle cutout about 1 third up from the bottom. The turbulence almost disappeared, I cant take a photo now but if you look at the calsci screens you will see they all have a cutout which they describe as necessary. This works for me, I cant believe how much I was getting beaten up by the original screen esp when behind trucks.
    #22
  3. FredRydr

    FredRydr Danger: Keep Back 300 Ft.

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    4,452
    Location:
    Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
    Aw c'mon. Opinions always win out over empirical data.

    Fred
    #23
  4. BlueRidgeKat

    BlueRidgeKat Daily Commuter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Oddometer:
    494
    Location:
    BlueRidgeMountains of Virginia
    When it comes to windscreens I'm not so sure its so much about opinion as it is just the fact of what works for one person may not for another. So many factors... height, riding position, helmet. The bad part is you may have to go through 3 or 4 of the damn things before you find the one that works for you.

    By the way I only change oil every 8000 miles no matter if it needs it or not. :D


    .
    #24
  5. JRWooden

    JRWooden never attribute to malice...

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,917
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ok Fred and BRK ... we are going to have to enforce at least a FEW rules here ......... both of you hosers owe me a beer :lol3 :freaky
    #25
  6. Forrest39

    Forrest39 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Anybody successfully install a tall windscreen on a F700GS that is compatible with Barkbusters? With the OEM screen, there is about 1/2" clearance.
    I like the stream, but after looking at this image, I'm doubtful it would install properly...
    Thanks in advance for any ideas. For my bride's '13 F700GS.
    Cheers, -Kevin
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #26
  7. Capt CF

    Capt CF Pontificating Nobody

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,308
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Yes, I did a Givi airflow and it works with Barkbuster Storms. I had to have them a tad higher than I would have liked, but they clear completely at the turn stops. The Givi is controversial though. Some people say there is too much buffeting, but then others say...wait, nevermind, this is the same discussion with every windscreen. :)
    #27
  8. sorebutt

    sorebutt Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,643
    Location:
    Lewiston,ID
    I installed a Madstat and it clears as well as the stock. It uses wings that attach to the fairing for lower protection.
    #28
  9. Forrest39

    Forrest39 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I got a response from the Z-Technik folks who said that the v-stream is a little wide on the lower part of the screen and that it would not work with bark busters. Thanks for the responses!
    -Kevin
    #29
  10. wheelan

    wheelan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    49
    Location:
    Australia
    So I have been asked for photos, note the frosted part on the top was to cover up where I had scratched it, I just taped it off and wet and dried it. The hole cut out has been shaped to draw air through, dont know if it helps or not? As far as the tops cut off I just kept shaping it till it look right. Anyway cheap as chips, even cheaper.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    https://wheelan.smugmug.com/Suspension-shots-/i-TCmpn8K/0/XL/20140404_164635-XL.jpg
    Note the angled filing of the hole below.
    [​IMG]
    #30
  11. Arclite

    Arclite Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Oddometer:
    150
    Location:
    TBD
    ^what did you use to cut that hole?
    #31
  12. ebrabaek

    ebrabaek Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,745
    Location:
    Grand Valley, Colorado
    I believe it was an Aussie triangular drill.
    #32
  13. wheelan

    wheelan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    49
    Location:
    Australia
    dremel grinder, file for shape, wet and dry sandpaper to finish up.
    #33
  14. MotoRod700

    MotoRod700 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    50
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, Texas
    That's awesome ... I'm stealing your idea and hoping for the best.
    #34
  15. firebolter

    firebolter Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Oddometer:
    647
    Location:
    Annapolis Mary-Land

    Looks like the CalSci screens! only a little lower on the screen

    [​IMG]
    #35