WinGDB3 version 3.3 available for download!

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Duende, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I just found how to make a new thread, sorry for posting this twice

    WinGDB3 version 3.3 available for download!


    Now version 3.41 is available
    See last message

    WinGDB3 is a program, that can do all kinds of conversions for waypoints, routes and tracks using the files from MapSource.

    From now you can download the latest version 3.3 from my website www.sackman.info.

    The main improvements are:

    1. route- and trackfilter. It is now possible to reduce the number of route- and trackpoints during the conversion.
    2. GPX support. Input files with tracks can now be in gpx format.
    3. New option for the Zumo (and NĂ¼vi 550). Tracks can now be converted to routes with invisible via points.
    4. Track to track conversion with filterfunction.
    5. WinGDB3 is now Vista compliant.
    6. Drag&drop of the input file.
    7. Preview of input in MapSource

    Furthermore the screen is partly redesigned, The MapSource implementation is simplified and a problem with conversions around the 0-meredian is solved.

    I wish everybody lot of fun with the use of this version of WinGDB3 and you're welcome to report problems to wingdb3@gmail.com

    Edward
    #1
  2. JimC

    JimC Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,039
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Edward thank you very much for a great little program. Using your program in conjunction with GPSBabel provides the ability to convert tracks and routes from just about any source to a format usable by almost any GPS that will load a route or a track.

    Jim in Sacramento
    #2
  3. GodSilla

    GodSilla I did that.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    12,092
    Location:
    GodSowncountry Australia
    Just grabbed a download myself. Now I just need to figure out what it does.:lol3
    #3
  4. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    Duende;millions of thanks.This wingdb3 helped me a great deal.It lost all viapoints on the route and made the route more visible.Before this program, I was unable to download and see the route on the unit.It's OK now.:clap
    #4
  5. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    And? What does it do for you? :ear

    Edward
    #5
  6. GodSilla

    GodSilla I did that.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    12,092
    Location:
    GodSowncountry Australia
    I still haven't had a crack at it, but from what I read I'm hoping it will convert garmin tracks to routes for me and vice-versa. I'm still new to all this so I'm trying most anything and everything to see what's useful.
    #6
  7. John E Davies

    John E Davies Runs at Mouth Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,224
    Location:
    Spokane, WA USA
    Does the new version support Garmin Version 3 files? That was my main issue with the old program - I had to convert all my data to Version 2.

    Thanks for a great utility!
    #7
  8. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    One thing I don't like about wingdb is that it doesn't support .kml, unlike trackmaker.If it did, everything would be much easier and quicker.
    #8
  9. JimC

    JimC Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,039
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I believe that is what GPSBAbel is for. The WinGDB program is a program that is designed specifically to work with Garmin Routes and Tracks and convert one to the other. Like GPSBabel it has a clean interface and is quite simple to use and it works very well. As I stated earlier the combination of these two tiny and simple programs provide an almost universal translation capability amoung the miriad of GPS formats and manufacturers. I greatly appreciate the fact that there are people like Edward who use there own personal time and resources to provide an excellent product to the public for free.

    Jim in Sacramento
    #9
  10. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    I worked with GPSBabel as well but,say;I draw a route on GE and save as .kml and open this .kml with GPSTrackmaker.After that I save it as .gdp or either .gpx and open this on mapsource.ALL I HARDLY SEE is a route-like redline with lots of viapoints on it.And I wasn't able to save this onto the unit,no way...
    Then;yesterday I tried wingdb and it erased the viapoints on the route.I believe that hundreds of viapoints prevented the unit from showing the route.
    P.S.I don't know Edward.Is he from us here?I'd like to thank him for all his contributions.
    #10
  11. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    I think this helps Jim.
    I can't load it as a route onto the unit though it seems it has been loaded.
    [​IMG]
    #11
  12. JimC

    JimC Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,039
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I think your problem is that you do not have a routable set of Garmin Maps on your PC for the area you are working on. What Edward has discovered in WinGDP (as best I can guess) is that when Mapsource calculates a route it actually creates a track of the roads used to route you from your start through your via points to your destination. This track is invisible to us in Mapsource, as we only see the start, end and via points. It is this invisible track that WinGDB uses to generate the accurate tracks that is does when converting a route to a track.

    If you do not have routable maps for Mapsource all that can be created is point to point routes. If you create a KML route in GE you save a bunch of way/via points. If the number of these way/viapoints exceeds somewhere between 50 and 200 points depending on your gps they will either be truncated or will not load on your unit. I think the issue you are having is that your KML routes are exceeding the number of way/viapoints allowed in a Mapsouce route. I believe the only solution you have is to break your large KML routes into several smaller individual KML routes, I would start with 50 or less waypoints per route and try to work up from there.

    The best solution, if you have a GPS that has good track support, would be to create tracks in Mapsouce and then display the tracks in GE. Keep adjusting the track in Mapsource until it matches your route in GE. Tracks allow you to have 500 track points per track vs 50 points for a route. If you have the new Colorado to Oregon GPS's your tracks can contain 10,000 track points. Have you tried converting the GPSTrackmaker file into a track using WinGDB?

    Jim in Sacramento
    #12
  13. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    My Garmin map is routeable but someone once said that I had to disable tracklogging before downloading a route.Weird!I own a 2610 and it is a great unit.But with less track compatiblity compared to other new-tech unitsBut enough for me.Another thing is that I often use GE rather than mapsource to create routes.Nothing on road but on dirt GE works better than mapsource though I have a topo map (this is also being discussed here''why cant garmin do dirt roads...'')
    The procedure is as follows and I hope this definition helps someone.
    1-I draw and save as kml
    2-From kml to gdp or gpx by the help of trackmaker
    3-Finally I erased the via/waypoints with WinGDB.
    4-Now I can see the route clearly on the unit screen.
    ''Have you tried converting the GPSTrackmaker file into a track using WinGDB?''????
    WinGDB only converts gpx or gdp files.It doesn't convert gtm files.
    #13
  14. jackr

    jackr 2008 KTM 950 SE

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    226
    Location:
    Kamloops BC
    I have WinGDB11, it's great. I tried to go your site for the upgrade but cannot access it. Anyone else with this problem?
    #14
  15. beemer67

    beemer67 Really Old airhead

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    282
    Location:
    Fish Limb, B.C. Canada
    Took me several tries but eventually got a connect. The link typing is correct etc.
    #15
  16. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands

    Sure, WinGDB3 (what's in a name ) supports GDB V3 files already for over a year.

    Edward
    #16
  17. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I'm not from the US, but from the Netherlands.

    And no, I will not support .kml files, because I have no intention to make WinGDB3 an universal utility. The only concession I did was supporting GPX files for tracks and just for input.

    Edward
    #17
  18. Duende

    Duende Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Did you manage to get a copy in the meantime? If not, mail your e-mail address to me at wingdb3@gmail.com and I will send you a copy.

    Edward
    #18
  19. the venturer

    the venturer Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,451
    Location:
    Thrace and Istanbul
    Thanks a lot Edward.WinGDB helped me a great deal.(You know my story....)And I sorted it out now.Happy with it.Already drawn tomorrow's route.:norton Make wingdb a universal software.All in one:thumb
    This better.
    If you ever make your way here,your refreshing drink and meal ready for you.
    #19
  20. jackr

    jackr 2008 KTM 950 SE

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    226
    Location:
    Kamloops BC
    I tried a little later and was able to download it with no problems. I haven't used it yet but it looks a lot better then the old version. Thanks :clap
    #20