Wireless Charging options and experience?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by SFC_Ren, Aug 17, 2020.

1. SFC_Ren

SFC_Ren Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I haven't been able to find anything here except for one thread back in 2018 in regards to wireless charging on the motorcycle of a cellphone while navigating.

IP68 waterproofing is a requirement as well as wireless charging while I'm shopping for a device to use as a primary navigation tool to replace a Garmin waterproof device for navigating tracks off road.

What if any experience have you all had with wireless chargers and which ones? With which phones?

Thanks in advance for your replies
  2. Jamie Z

Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

Oddometer:
  3. SFC_Ren

SFC_Ren Been here awhile

Oddometer:
  4. levain

levain STILL Jim Williams Supporter

Oddometer:
    Samsung S7 Active with Juiced Squeeze. Ive been using the S7 active for 5 years or so as my primary GPS and the perfect squeeze since it came out 3 or 5 years ago. It's been flawless. S7 Active has been the best phone I've used for this purpose. Being the active model, it comes pretty beefed up, is waterproof and just about the right size. It's been flawless.

Charging has always been the elephant in the room using a phone on a bike. For me at least. Total pain in the ass. I wore out one charging port on the first S7 Active, but mostly wore out cables. They get to where they don't hold anymore. The juiced squeeze changed everything. It'll keep the phone at 100% on full brightness for as long as you need.
    SFC_Ren likes this.
  5. cBJr

cBJr Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    SFC_Ren likes this.
  6. Tripped1

Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

Oddometer:
    I have one 500ish km ride with this guy.

RAM-HOL-UN14WB-V7M.jpg

It can kick a samsung into quick charge, with a thin case, and had no issues with heat (surprisingly) ran my S6 with all the bells and whistles (bluetooth and Wifi on) with the screen maxed all day without issue.