Wondering if it's time for a 800gs

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Jproaster, Jun 20, 2016.

1. Jproaster

Jproaster I work too much

Oddometer:
    In the winter of 2013 I (biker noob) was seeking a bike for a Tennessee to Mexico trip. Was debating a 800gs, which seemed like a dream bike to me. But, for financial reasons (reasonably good deal on a '12 vstrom 650 adv) and maybe feeling slightly intimated by the gs as a biker noob, I went with the Suzuki. My trip to Mexico was awesome and the bike was superb.

Now I'm eyeing a trip to Alaska in '17 and I'm wondering if it's time to go GS. My vstrom is more than capable, but it's definitely more asphalt oriented. To be honest I just want to try something different...little more dirt oriented. I'll look for something used for my mishaps on dirt roads.

So, I'm wondering if the GS is my next step bike. Maybe it's something else.

If your ceiling amount was 11k for a used bike (less when you figure panniers, etc), is there a certain year to avoid, too much mileage or whatever you know that I should be asking...what would you be looking to obtain?

Thanks,
    John
  2. Reaver

Reaver Why am I still here?

Oddometer:
    There's nothing wrong with a Wee Strom.

But if you get a GS, then one with a build date after Feb 2012. A 2013 is good also. That'll get you the new design alternator. There are many threads here about used bikes. Happy reading.
  3. XRman

XRman Long timer

Oddometer:
    Put some Mitas E07 tyres on your DL and ride a bit slower when it gets rough.

Can you buy a Suzuki DR650 in the States? Lighter than the DL or the GS and more dirt worthy.
  4. Jproaster

Oddometer:
    Thank you for the alternator info.
    Always reading.
    Wee is fun...even mild off road. Just exploring right now.

John
  5. Reaver

Oddometer: