Would You Recommend an F650GS to Someone Living in Developing Country?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by gfloyd2002, Dec 18, 2011.

1. gfloyd2002

gfloyd2002 Title Free Since '12

Oddometer:
    I'll be in the market for a new bike next year, and am seriously considering a new F650GS. My circumstances are a bit unique: I move every 2-3 years for my job, and I could be assigned anywhere in the world. Anywhere. (A nice career for adventure touring. :D ) So, I need a bike that can handle a variety of conditions for a commute and touring fun in an unknown location that will change several times during the life of the bike. Because I can't rely on the presence of a local dealer, the bike needs to be one that I can wrench myself (importing parts is uniquely easy at US prices because of my job.) I've got some experience working on my own bikes, carb rejetting, exhaust, brakes, LED install, etc, but nothing too complex. I was scared sick taking apart my carbs :puke1, for example, despite good outcome.

I'm really interested in an F650GS, because, well, I'm emotionally attached to them. Drawn like a moth to flame in fact. I'm used to a sportbike and want on road performance, but with flexibility for those times I'm touring and the developing world demands better off road capability. The F650GS seems just right. But I've been reading about some problems with the F series bikes (like the alternator thread active atm) and also wonder whether BMW's love of electronics is a poor match for a novice mechanic living away from a dealer. Do I need to break my emotional attachment and consider a Japanese bike for better reliability? My backup bike would probably be a Versys, and while I'm used to working on Kawis (I've owned and worked on my own Kawis since 2005) somehow it just isn't that appealing.