Wyoming ADV POI

Discussion in 'GPS Tracks - Rockies' started by bigmo, Apr 25, 2018.

1. bigmo

bigmo The Great White North

Oddometer:
    All, I'm actually seeking feedback if you see value in an "ADV" POI file. For background, I'm a cartographer by trade, so I spend most of my day sitting in front of GIS data. I was helping my daughter with an OSM project for her geography class tonight, and started goofing around while they sorted out some ideas. On a related topic, this week, I was planning a big ride for the summer and was struggling to find decent POI information - ESPECIALLY gas. After doing some scrounging, I realized that what's out there is hit or miss and quite out of date.

So what is this? This is a scrape from OSM (yesterday's build). I wanted to focus JUST on the things that I like to have awareness of when adventuring. So I created a POI file for Wyoming with the following categories included:

1. Gas
    2. Lodging (motels & hotels)
    3. Camp sites
    4. Medical (hospitals, clinics & pharmacies)
    5. Food (restaurants, cafes & fast food)

This didn't take much time, and the proper solution is to seek help from a buddy that can do this all in an automated process and post the data to a common spot monthly. There's a few functions that I cannot seem to automate for now - so it's canned for the time being. More importantly, it's OSM...so it's as good as OSM. Generally speaking, OSM quality and accuracy is quite good. Road features are better than POI info, but I spot checked about 100 items and found no errors. Are there some gas stations in existence that are not on this list? Sure. Are there some on this list that may have closed for good this winter? Possibly. The point is, PLEASE verify if you are building a route. You'll see some are named, some are not. Not a dig on Wyoming, but WY has one of the lowest OSM contributer populations in the US. I expect the attribution data to be better in CO & UT.