1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

XCA WP Suspension Upgrade

Discussion in 'Triumph Tigers' started by sjgrib, Jan 10, 2018.

1. sjgrib

sjgrib n00b

Oddometer:
    this is my first time on the site but I'm racking my brain trying to figure out the best (within budget) suspension upgrade. I have a 2016 Tiger 800 XCA. I'm 205 lbs (not counting gear and when I'm 2 up) so I'm already over the weight the bike was sprung for. I ride as much dirt as possible and camp off her as well. I am looking at the Touratech Explore HP to replace the rear but with the WP already in place, would it be as good to simply replace the spring? What would be the most bang for my buck? I don't really know how good the WP rear shock is and wouldn't want to replace it if all I need is a spring.

Thanks for the advice in advance!
  2. BigMan73

BigMan73 Binary Adventurer

Oddometer:
  3. RideFreak

RideFreak Torque Junky

Oddometer:
    I'd try re-springing it for your weight then decide if it works for you before letting anyone goof it up.
    clawdog60 likes this.
  4. okckeith

okckeith Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I highly recommend Mikes Dirt Bike Suspension. He rides a 2015 800 XCX. He did my 2015 800 XCX suspension front and rear. I could not be happier!
    Raconnol likes this.
  5. Raconnol

Raconnol Long timer

Oddometer:
    I got customs springs, front and back from Mike for my 2015 XCX and could not be happier.