XJ600 headlight upgrade project

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by julietkilo, Jan 9, 2019.

1. julietkilo

julietkilo XJ600 rider

Oddometer:
    OK, so this is probably going to be a somewhat lengthy thread, you've been warned.

I've been doing a lot of riding in the dark on my 1998 Yamaha XJ600 Diversion since I got my motorcycle license in July 2018. Being the not-so-very-morning person that I am, I tend to start out late in the afternoon and often finish riding on the wrong side of midnight. Admittedly Norway is the land of the midnight sun, but the spring and fall seasons here in Norway's narrow west coast valleys come with some very dark afternoons and evenings.

And so I found myself needing better light performance from my XJ600, because I've grown accustomed to decent headlights.

My trusty Can-Am Spyder that I've been riding for a couple of years has 2x low beams and 2x high beams (all Hella projectors, I discovered...), and I installed Opt7 LED bulbs in the lows. I also added a 40W Lazer LED bar to the Spyder's fairing, which quite literally turns night into day on the road ahead of me.

This was the kind of light performance I wanted for my XJ600 too. And so I went ahead and bought a fairly expensive H4 LED bulb from Cyclops, only to find out that the XJ600's headlight wasn't too impressed with its new bulb... the reflector and glass are probably showing their age, because the output hardly changed at all.

The little gain I got was likely more from the fact that LED's offer full light output from their lowest rated voltage (usually 8-10 volts), whereas the halogen H4 that I replaced probably suffered from low voltage through the 20 year old wire harness.