XR650 R title transfer in CA - HELP

Discussion in 'West – California, the desert southwest and whatev' started by Whitney151, Nov 30, 2009.

1. Whitney151

Whitney151 n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello All,

First things first, I'm new to the whole ADV forum and just wanted to say hello. It's cool the net affords people like us the ability to compile vast amounts of knowledge on the things we love to do.

Anyway, I've just purchased a CA plated 2001 XR650r. I took all my paperwork down to the hole that is the DMV to get my name put on the title. Everything was cool until they asked for an odometer mileage. When I told the person the bike didn't have an odometer, I got one of these...:huh
    Needless to say, I've paid the tax and dues, but I still don’t have a title in my name.

The bike is plated and already has its 2010 registration; I just need to get it in my name. I know the laws changed after 2001 and they stopped plating, but before 2001 the bikes are grandfathered in.

Has anyone delt with this before who can offer me some advise? Is there a code I need to provide the person at the DMV?? Or am I just screwed?

Thanks very much!
  2. NSFW

NSFW basecamp4adv Super Supporter

Oddometer:
    welcome to the community and someone should be able to provide some answers from their experience.

my guess is contact the previous owner and get an affidavit.

:lurk
  3. boney

boney Ride > Post Supporter

Oddometer:
    Check the box that says the odometer is not capable of displaying the actual mileage of the vehicle then make up a number, if it's not too late.

You may run into issues trying to prove to the DMV that the bike has no odometer. I'm pretty sure that's illegal.:deal
  4. FakeName

FakeName Wile E Coyote SuperGenius

Oddometer:
    In CA, there is a box on the transfer of title and the "pink" slip for the odometer reading. Fill it in to whatever you believe is accurate. The previous owner was supposed to do that- it's right above his/her signature.