XR650R electricity

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by themansfield, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. XRider

    XRider Almost Lifelike

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Los Gatos, CA
    I had the same trouble getting the boys at B.D. to commit to a single output solution on thier stator. If I need a large single output stator I use the Ricky Stator 200w with one of his heavy duty regulator rectifiers. The instructions that come with the stator show you how to connect it for single output and you don't need to add a huge battery. But you do need one of his reg/rect's, the B.D. reg/rect will not handle the power.
  2. azcagiva

    azcagiva new orange flavor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,178
    Location:
    Camp Verde, AZ
    I made the battery box myself. The battery is the same as the 450. I used the factory bolt locations on the subframe and added a support that was attached to the top rail of the subframe.

    Joe racer sells a plastic box that mounts in the same location. I hate to recommend the guy after he hung up on me, but it might help you guys out.

    -John
  3. river251

    river251 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    158
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Thanks John. When I call Joe I'll hang up on him for ya. :D Just kidding.
  4. joenuclear

    joenuclear Still here....

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,233
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Bump
  5. pwrtrippin

    pwrtrippin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    501
    Location:
    Woodland Park,CO
    I'm working on a DS wiring harness setup for my piggy, I had a fast made prototype I built last summer that worked well but after putting on bar risers and Raptor bars, some of the wires were a bit on the tight side so I figured it was time to redo it through the winter and make it bullet proof.

    My Idea is to stick with the dual output set up so systems can be easily isolated and not interfere with each other. Headlight and taillight/ brake light will be on one system running AC. The DC system will run cooling fan, Acewell computer, turn signals and horn and will have an accessory jack (probably BMW style). DC side will also have a small battery pack, there will be a battery tender harness on this also.

    I am thinking of building a few of these harnesses and also building a universal harness for other dirt bikes. I am sourcing plugs to try and make this as plug and play as possible, all wire colors will be color coodinated per system and all terminal ends will be factory style bullet connectors.

    So the question I have for the other piggy riders is do you think I am missing anything in my harness as far as accessory outlets go, or is there anything you would like to see in a harness? I will be trying to keep my price below $250 for a first rate harness.

    Feel free to throw your ideas my way.
  6. Oddfellow

    Oddfellow Beasty Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Oddometer:
    966
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I would be very interested in a color coded harness. I bought my bike already farkled out and there seems to be only two colors of wire, red & black and some of them are connected together! I am in the decoding process now and was actually thinking about trying to do this myself. I figure no need to reinvent the wheel if you are already headed down this path.
  7. 4play

    4play Next?

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,053
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    I went to an all DC system a while back & had issues trying to keep up with a 70w HID light setup. Since all the components were new, I assumed I had done someting wrong. Turns out the RS rectifier/regulator (old style finned) was bad from the start. It just would not pass enough current. After verifying both legs of the BD stator & combining them as instructed I was able to run two 85W lights on AC without issue, so the problem had to be the rectifier/regulator. Ricky Stator sent me a new one free of charge & now I have plenty of power to run the headlight & the grip heaters :wings

    You can combine the BD outputs, you just have to verify that you combine them with the highest AC voltage output. I'm very happy with the setup I have now.
  8. trackhead

    trackhead Utard Wankster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,754
    Location:
    Transient
    So the power to the coil does not need a capacitor or battery, but the power to the ligths, etc does?

    Thanks, great thread.
  9. pwrtrippin

    pwrtrippin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    501
    Location:
    Woodland Park,CO
    Track, the coil acts as a capacitor.

    Odd, Hoping to have the first batch of harnesses ready by the end of the month, I'm waiting for the bullet connectors to arrive and still working out the details for a small power block with a relay to activate it so it won't burn out switches. As I said I only want to run top quality components in this so if it takes me a little longer to get it right so be it. I'll keep you updated on this thread for how progress is going.
  10. AKASY

    AKASY Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,180
    Location:
    Hopefully on a bike
    me thinks capacitor is defined by its capacity to store energy, a coil has no such capability. A coil can be used enhance (step up or down but that is another story) the level of voltage--at the expense of current flow--which is what it does in an ignition system. Using a capacitor or battery tends to smooth the rectified AC to a more constant DC level--something a coil cannot accomplish.

  11. XRider

    XRider Almost Lifelike

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Los Gatos, CA
    The coil does not act as a capacitor. The XR stator has 2 dedicated windings to power the ignition. The power is unregulated and unrectified (AC) and goes directly to the ICM (CDI box). I can send you both XR schematics and DSK schematics if you like. Just PM me your email address.
  12. Luke

    Luke GPoET&P

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,175
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Correct. There's a capacitor (several, actually) built into the ignition module. It's the C in CDI.
  13. harcus

    harcus Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,337
    Location:
    Edge of the Wasatch

    River....

    Verrry impressive writeup. You appear to be a EE as well as researching this particular issue. As a retired aerospace engr (ME), I am impressed.

    I am in Salt Lake and part of a local XR650R group. One of our members is in the middle of adding a 200 w RS stator / 100 w headlight and is very confused.

    See...http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?p=11803426#post11803426

    So, I am curious where you are on this ? :huh

    Thankz
  14. river251

    river251 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    158
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Hi Harcus, yes, the person who wrote that is smart but it's not me. I just copied those from web sites, found with google.

    Glad it was a help to somebody.

    Where I'm at is I decided to let BD do the stator, one output at 200w, all DC. It will power my lights, heaters. I am making a mount for an XR650L battery over the motor. Since there is no electric start I don't need that much, and may get something smaller in lead acid, but I like the idea of the reserve juice keeping the lighting strong at low rpms, or even in the event of a dead engine at 80 mph (which has happened on my road bikes). I'm using a BD Tecate HID/halogen headlight, about 70w total. So should be plenty of juice. Haven't gotten around to taking the stator off and sending it to them yet, will soon.

    If I had it to do again, I would get the Ricky 200 watt stator, reg/rect, and an 8" halogen.
    jimijoe likes this.
  15. river251

    river251 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    158
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Harcus, I took a brief look at that thread. While I am not an EE, I did talk to every dual kit manufacturer quite a bit, and a lot of online stuff, so if you ask a specific question maybe I can answer.
  16. Ironwood

    Ironwood Friday Harbor, WA

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,022
    So just to clarify, does that one output then flow thru one large regulator and then to the various loads?

    Joe
  17. river251

    river251 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    158
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Yes. I was going to go with two 125 watt outputs and putting both to DC with two regulators, but after talking a lot with BD, they are not sure that the two 125 watt systems are really producing more than 200 watts. You lose power with each regulator.

    I'm sure you know there is a third power out from the stator, this is the stock one, that powers the ignition, so this stays the same, you don't worry about it.

    If you use one regulator don't use the BD standard one, it won't handle the 200 watts. They happen to have a regulator/rectifier like Ricky's for me. You also have to be careful that any switch can handle whatever you put through it (for 200 watts of lights, the BD light switch is questionable, for example).

    BD can give you two 125 watt outputs, or one 200 watt output. Why not one 250 watt output? Because to get the right voltage/current for the dual output, they use smaller wire, so they can get the number of turns they need on the stator. When they go with the single 200 watts, they use thicker wire, which limits the number of turns. But with the thicker wire, you are passing more current safely. I doubt it's a problem with the smaller wire though, since BD systems rarely get negative press.

    I may ask them to use two smaller rectifiers, and run them both to my 12 volt battery, and try to have a 250 watt DC system that way. It may not be worth it, since each regulator absorbs some of the power. But I have to verify this will work. There aren't many people to ask. The guys at Ricky are the most helpful and seem most knowledgeable to me. I really need to talk to just an auto electrical guy.
  18. trackhead

    trackhead Utard Wankster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,754
    Location:
    Transient
    XR600R-no battery

    I have two outputs on my stator (unknown if it's Ricky or Baja), one to the coil, the other to a Baja regulator. Should the voltage on the load side of the regulator be reading 12v on the meter? Mine is only reading 1.8v. Prior to rebuild, it powered the stock 55w bulb fine, but now......?
  19. XRider

    XRider Almost Lifelike

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,295
    Location:
    Los Gatos, CA
    The stock headlight on the XR is 35 watts. You can't run a 55/60 watt headlight unless you have a big stator. A rewound stator will have 8 wires comming out of it and a stock one only has 6. You should have a pair of wires that go to a 2 pin connector, a black wire with a red stripe that goes to a single bullet connector, a brown wire that goes to another single bullet connector and a green and a white wire that goes to the B.D. regulator/rectifier. If you have 2 extra white wires then you've got a B.D. rewound stator, if you have an extra white and a green then it's a Ricky. Ether way 1.8 volts is way too low it should be around 13.5. Disconnect the reg/rect and set your meter for AC and check the voltage from the stator. If it's still only 1.8 then you pinched a wire somewhere, the little metal bracket inside the stator cover is often the culprit. If the voltage is above 13.5 from the stator then the problem is in the DSK. A short in the battery pack is common and so is having the reg/rect just quit on you.

    Hope this helps.
  20. trackhead

    trackhead Utard Wankster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,754
    Location:
    Transient
    ^^^Thanks.

    This XR6 is definitely rewound. I replaced the left case cover before the complete rebuild and all the poles were wrapped with four total wires coming out. Two went to a Baja Designs regulator for the light that worked fine after putting on the new left case cover.

    I'll check the AC voltage in front of the regulator.