Yamaha RZV500R The 35 year quest...

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by busa1300, Jan 27, 2019.

1. busa1300

busa1300 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    The year was 1984.
    I was 21 years old and making pretty good money working in a paint shop.
    I had been riding a 78 GS1000E for several years, and was ready for the new wave of sportbikes that were being built in Japan. I read every new motorcycle road test I could find on the latest/best/fastest each month. By July of 84 I had made a decision and bought a Sliver/Red FJ1100...still one of the best looking bikes built by Yamaha in my mind.
    It was a rocket, and I fell in love at first touch.

ads-cars-bikes 122.jpg

But development moved incredibly fast in the 80's, and only a few months later I saw a bike that has haunted me ever since. A home market only aluminum frame RZV500R genuine GP replica of the likes never seen before. There was also the export version RZ/RD500 with standard steel frame and other less cool standard parts...possibly more accessible through Canada I was thinking.

IMG_0162.JPG
  2. busa1300

Oddometer:
    I was still paying off the FJ, but wanted the V4 stroker real real bad. So early in 85 I went to Windsor Canada to Parker Yamaha (eventually turning into Joe Rocket) to see what it would take to get a RZ500 into the country. They said they would be more than happy to help me get a bike across the border, but then I would be on my own.
    The only way I could really afford full payment of the the RZ was to sell my FJ.....and I loved that bike too much to say goodbye.
    Plus my riding habits would have ended up causing an illegally registered RZ500, to probably be impounded forever at some point.
    So, I did the only thing I thought I could do..... I bought a RZ350 to go along with my FJ1100.

And the two stroke bug infected me.....for life.

ads-cars-bikes 287.jpg
  3. Norty01

Norty01 RIDERCOACH (RETIRED!)

Oddometer: