Yamaha T700 Tenere owners thread

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by BDG, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. layzrider

    layzrider Layzrider

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Oddometer:
    783
    Location:
    vancouver, wa
    Fwiw. I was quite impressed with the uni pre-filter I had on another bike, so I got one for this bike. I found I seldom had to clean the main air cleaner, the pre-filter would catch most of it and it was easy to clean.
    Benduro likes this.
  2. NMTrailboss

    NMTrailboss Team Dead End

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Oddometer:
    9,100
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    :clap:clap:clap
    colddog and atomizer like this.
  3. al803

    al803 Tenere700

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Oddometer:
    714
    Location:
    Greece
    Is there anyone that has heated grips on the Rally edition?
  4. OklahomaRider

    OklahomaRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    165
    Location:
    N.E. Oklahoma
    Anyone try the dirtracks?
  5. atomizer

    atomizer Be here now Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Oddometer:
    674
    Location:
    Dixon, New Mexico
    This guy just installed a set. Look decent and the price is right
    OklahomaRider likes this.
  6. OklahomaRider

    OklahomaRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Oddometer:
    165
    Location:
    N.E. Oklahoma
    I watched that a bit earlier, they do look good and quite a bit cheaper than most
  7. JW

    JW Springs' Cuz

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    179
    Location:
    Clovis, Ca
    For SoCal, you are correct, most stealers I contacted were quoting $12.5 -$13K. I got mine at Capitol in Sacramento for $11,500 ish OTD and understand that Berkley Yamaha has fair pricing as well. If in LA, a 8 hr round trip to save $1,000 - $1,500 might be worth it to some.
    Benduro and SlowerThanYou like this.
  8. WalterMitty2

    WalterMitty2 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    413
    Location:
    Chicagoland Area
    FYI.....

  9. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,233
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    I was a bit surprised by the 474lb weight with 1/4 tank of fuel. But then I saw the center stand and bars. Pretty cool how much weight they stripped off!
    tonyubsdell and WalterMitty2 like this.
  10. WalterMitty2

    WalterMitty2 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    413
    Location:
    Chicagoland Area
    While the new "pipe" sounds pretty kewl, I would never go that loud.
    Barry likes this.
  11. Ranies

    Ranies Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Oddometer:
    80
    Location:
    Norway
    Can anyone recommend a bar from Pro Taper that fits? Pro Taper Evo? YZ high?

    I want a new black and stronger bar. I know that off de road web site sells the Evo adventure high and low plus another one for the Tenere 700.

    I want it to be equal as the stock, but could be a tad higher.
    tonyubsdell likes this.
  12. TheMuffinMan54

    TheMuffinMan54 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Oddometer:
    320
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Any of the Evo or Contour bars will “fit” it’s just a question of what bend you want. The Windham/RM mid is my favourite bend...relatively tall with very little sweep.
    Benduro likes this.
  13. Benduro

    Benduro Motorodeo Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    32,053
    Location:
    El Portal, Ca/East Bay, Ca
    And I go for the lowest possible renthal, the low mcgrath bend (there are two mcgraths).

    All preferences.
    tonyubsdell likes this.
  14. Ranies

    Ranies Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Oddometer:
    80
    Location:
    Norway

    Thanks.

    Ordered one of theese. Have you mounted it on a Tenere 700?

    I guess I'll have to make threads inside so my Acerbic handguards will fit. Also the stock bars have small holes drilled for the switch units. I have to choose by drilling holes in the Pro Taper or grind off the knobs on the units?
  15. TheMuffinMan54

    TheMuffinMan54 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Oddometer:
    320
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Haven’t put one on my T7 yet, but I ran that bar on my previous three bikes (Super T, XR650R, KTM690) with good results. One will be going on the 700 this winter for sure. If you don’t have the expanding clamps for the handguards then yes you will have to thread them. As for the switch units, my preference is to grind off the tabs and then use a little electrical tape around the bar to give them more grip and keep them from rotating. That way you have more adjustability in case you need to change their placement down the road, and you aren’t creating a weak point by drilling holes in the bar.
    Ranies and darmahman like this.
  16. Benduro

    Benduro Motorodeo Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    32,053
    Location:
    El Portal, Ca/East Bay, Ca
    Just changed my springs to 6.3s from HyperPro.

    Thanks for your photos. They were helpful.
    I had to remove my bars because the HDB clamps were in the way. Other than that...

    20201202_093838.jpg


    20201202_094103.jpg


    20201202_103031.jpg


    Now for the testing!
  17. amboss87

    amboss87 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Oddometer:
    312
    Location:
    Lower Bavaria
    Good job! I'm glad to help.
    You gonna like it.
    Hyperpros are progressive, right?
    Benduro likes this.
  18. captain jc

    captain jc Earthrider Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    89
    Perfect first 100 miles,Point Reyes up 1 along Tomales bay,Marshall Petaluma rd back down to Bolinas
    up over to Fairfax. I love me
    some Tina Rae! 20201202_141029.jpg
  19. Benduro

    Benduro Motorodeo Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Oddometer:
    32,053
    Location:
    El Portal, Ca/East Bay, Ca
  20. TG001

    TG001 n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    East Netherlands
    Sorry for digging up this old post, but could you tell me which kit you got off ebay to fit the Yamaha key to the Givi case? I've got the 42L Outback from Givi, since it's exactly the same as the Yamaha OEM topcase, only 150 euro's cheaper. Well, I say exactly the same..only the lock mechanism appears to be different. So really curious to find out how you managed to fix this.

    Thanks!