Yamaha T700 Tenere owners thread

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by BDG, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. boboneleg

    boboneleg we can rebuild him.

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,802
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    You have to shave a bit off the rear of the Yamaha seat rack to make it fit, I put a post about it in here but can't find it now. Anyway, it's an easy job to do and doesn't affect the rack in any way.
    2WheelNomad likes this.
  2. boboneleg

    boboneleg we can rebuild him.

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,802
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    There ya go, it fits easily inside the rails .

    IMG_7146.jpeg
    ktmcrush and Johnnyboxer like this.
  3. boboneleg

    boboneleg we can rebuild him.

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,802
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    This is the only photo I can find now but it shows how much you need to shave off......

    IMG_6651.JPEG
    HardWorkingDog and Dao1 like this.
  4. 2WheelNomad

    2WheelNomad Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2021
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Mn
    Thank you. I can see in the previous pic the difference between the uncut one and the cut one.
  5. xtbiker

    xtbiker Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    56
    Thanks
  6. palada

    palada Perma-n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,177
    Location:
    SoCal (SFV)
    Anyone here have pics of the Wolfman B-Base with Expedition saddlebags on your T7? I'd like to see how far forward they sit. TIA.
  7. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    4,038
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    How do they do it? £125 all in delivered. Im impressed, lovely sound too

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Key lanyard and a tube of exhaust assembly paste too !!!

    [​IMG]


    Was gonna buy a Wings, but thought Id try it for the price, so thats £350 Ive got for petrol instead now:clap
  8. goldentaco

    goldentaco Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    759
    Location:
    Oakland Bishes!
    Anyone catch this: EU website states the ABS is switchable on the fly. That is in contrast to the US, AUS, and Canadian sites. I included the current pictures from each site to indicate that it may be a change in conjunction with the Euro5 compliance as the UK seems to be the only one getting those bikes now.

    Can anyone from the UK confirm the ABS is switchable on the fly? I haven't ever turned mine off nor have I needed to but understand it can only be disabled while stopped.

    From the EU Yamaha site
    upload_2021-9-24_14-18-55.png upload_2021-9-24_14-24-44.png



    From the US website:
    upload_2021-9-24_14-25-11.png

    upload_2021-9-24_14-19-39.png
    • Dirt-Ready Braking With Switchable ABS
      The Ténéré 700 features a pair of wave-style 282mm front discs, with rear braking handled by a 245mm wave-style rotor, for powerful deceleration that isn’t afraid of dirt and dust. ABS comes standard to boost rider confidence and prevent wheel lock-ups in reduced-traction conditions, but the Ténéré 700 gives riders the option of temporarily disabling the system for full manual control—ideal for the unique demands of challenging off-road conditions.

    From Yamaha AUS:
    upload_2021-9-24_14-21-31.png upload_2021-9-24_14-25-30.png

    From Yamaha Canada:
    upload_2021-9-24_14-24-3.png
    upload_2021-9-24_14-25-58.png
  9. joenuclear

    joenuclear Still here....

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,658
    Location:
    Arkansas near Oklahoma
    ?
  10. Stabilo_Boss

    Stabilo_Boss Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Oddometer:
    79
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Are you talking about the sentence that says "while riding"?
  11. Dan-M

    Dan-M Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,596
    Location:
    US 550 & I-25
    The first image says "on the fly" I think it's just a wording difference in EU manuals. It would seem the system would be the same. No reason not to include the change if there was one on US models.
  12. Stabilo_Boss

    Stabilo_Boss Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Oddometer:
    79
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I would tend to agree with you. Also if the button is on the display, I would find it quite difficult to switch off the ABS while riding.
  13. goldentaco

    goldentaco Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    759
    Location:
    Oakland Bishes!
    Yes. There’s a big terminology difference between on the fly and disable temporarily.
    VO1MX likes this.
  14. Meet@Trudys

    [email protected] Hoser

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Oddometer:
    148
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    My life would be so much easier if it was indeed on the fly..
  15. Saltboxlad

    Saltboxlad Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Oddometer:
    4,038
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Im in UK, so EU, and I can confirm button does nothing unless you are stationary
    goldentaco, Benduro and joenuclear like this.
  16. BaddAndy

    BaddAndy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    323
    Location:
    Here
    You can still skid the rear in the dirt with ABS on.
  17. joenuclear

    joenuclear Still here....

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,658
    Location:
    Arkansas near Oklahoma
    Not if it's working.
    Benduro and captain jc like this.
  18. DAD51

    DAD51 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    132
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Besides Rally Raid, does anyone in the U.S. make a tool for taking off both the front and rear wheel?

    My old 2003 FZ1 needed a 19mm adapter. I used a coupler nut. Also, a friend welded a 19mm headed bolt to spacer for his R1.
    P1210088.JPG P1210089.JPG
    Benduro and joenuclear like this.
  19. jmq3rd

    jmq3rd .

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    548
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    On bikes that have the internal hex like that, I usually cut an adapter like you've shown or cut the end off of an Allen wrench, and glue it into the axle. I carry an adjustable wrench with a tire iron for a handle, it works on both wheels (on all my bikes and most of my riding partners) that way.
    ktmcrush, Benduro and Dao1 like this.
  20. BaddAndy

    BaddAndy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    323
    Location:
    Here
    Follow me, I'll show you.