Zumo 660 USB cable error

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Emperor Norton, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Emperor Norton

Emperor Norton Kilroy was here

Oddometer:
    Recently I've had the opportunity to rain test my Zumo 660. The results while not fatal haven't made me an overly happy camper. The system for the most part seems waterproof. However I until the unit/cables dry out I will randomly get a "USB cable plugged into wrong port" message.

I'm not sure where the problem in the system is, whether its the GPS itself or the microUSB or 3.5mm jack on the cables. Has anyone seen this issue and know what is necessary to resolve the problem?

Alternatively how does one waterproof a 3.5mm jack and an allegedly sealed microUSB port?
  2. DanMesloh

DanMesloh Grumpy old man

Oddometer:
    I get the same message when I plug into the port on the M/C mount but not when using the port inside the battery compartment.

I've only had mine a couple weeks so I'm still learning to us it.
  3. Emperor Norton

Oddometer:
    I wonder if that means that the GPS to cradle connection isnt entirely waterproof.

Garmins response was helpful "look things over and find out what isn't waterproof"
  4. 9Dave

9Dave Bazinga!

Oddometer:
    Two words: Dielectric grease
  5. PhilSpace

PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

Oddometer:
    I love it when you talk dirty. :lol2
  6. Emperor Norton

Oddometer:
    Does that just go on the connecting pins or the seemingly flaky rubber seal as well?
  7. catsfive

catsfive 30,000 kms since 2006

Oddometer:
    From what I understand, you can only connect (and charge) it when connected to the inside port. This makes no sense to me, as I don't want to get into the habit of opening a waterproof device all the time.

I just got this. I'm going to test if I can charge it (but not connect it via USB) via the first port (not the one inside).
  8. 1200gsceej

1200gsceej wanabee overachiever

Oddometer:
    Breathing new life into this thread.