Zumo Power lead

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by tekebird, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. tekebird

    tekebird Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    177
    Location:
    Camp Hill, PA
    What do you guys use for the hardwire power lead connector?
    #1
  2. steve_k

    steve_k Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,077
    Location:
    Snohomish County
    Not sure I I understand the question completely?? I have installed my Zumo on a few bikes, so might be able to help if I knew a little more about what you are looking for.

    #2
  3. the_gr8t_waldo

    the_gr8t_waldo Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,743
    Location:
    tacoma warshington
    are you asking about the hardwired power cord? in my case i used the garmin cord sold on many sites.. most units already come with the more normal "cig. plug" cord. vastly easyer to find and cheaper, but a pretty ugly set up, imho....and most of my friends would agree that i KNOW "ugly"
    #3
  4. the_gr8t_waldo

    the_gr8t_waldo Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,743
    Location:
    tacoma warshington
    hard wired is a perm't connection to the bikes system..on the other hand a "connector"would indicate that youre looking for something that is unplugged when not needed ...lots of choices for the latter
    #4
  5. tekebird

    tekebird Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    177
    Location:
    Camp Hill, PA
    Ok. I am using a touratech mount on my fjr1300. It is zumo 660. It came with a hardwire harness but the bike side had no terminal ends. These wires are a super light gauge. What I am wondering is what people are using for the terminal ends on the bike side....specifically the battery.

    This harness has a built in fuse so no need to go to the fuse box
    #5
  6. Xeraux

    Xeraux Archvillain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    31,764
    Location:
    Where I need to be.
    For you BMW folks...

    It plugs into the switched connector underneath the triple.

    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=10596599&postcount=18

    Obviously, you would replace the 478 cable with whatever flavor of GPS you're currently using.

    #6