Zumo550 & Cardo G4

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by OkieTom, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. RonkoRider

    RonkoRider Wrong Island, NY Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,842
    Location:
    Middle of Suburban Hell- Long Island, NY
    I tell ya, that stupid little gizmo from Sony works GREAT! Even the directions from the GPS come across in stereo.

    The only drag is that I have to carry extra wires to charge it.
    #21
  2. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,521
    Location:
    San Diego
    That's the drag. Right now I have just one charger to carry and I'd prefer to keep it that way.
    #22
  3. xymotic

    xymotic Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,370
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Can you talk on the phone using this setup?:scratch
    #23
  4. craigv

    craigv Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Jerzee
    +1 - can you talk on the phone with this setup?

    also, I can't seem to get the sony dongle to pair with my G4 headset, any tips?

    Thanks, Craig
    #24
  5. RonkoRider

    RonkoRider Wrong Island, NY Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,842
    Location:
    Middle of Suburban Hell- Long Island, NY
    I first made sure my HTC Evo synchs only to the Zumo- not the Scala.

    [​IMG]

    You synch the Sony to the headset by holding the one button on the Sony down until you see the blue and purple lights flash. You then hold the volume up and down on the headset. You only have to do this once. Plug the Sony into the headset Jack on the zumo, and your good to go.




    <center><a href='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/show_photo.php?p=11/03/06/1623.jpg'><img src='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/photos/11/03/06/s_1623.jpg' border='0' width='281' height='195' style='margin:5px'></a></center>

    Then, I turn on the Zumo and Sony




    <center><a href='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/show_photo.php?p=11/03/06/1624.jpg'><img src='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/photos/11/03/06/s_1624.jpg' border='0' width='214' height='281' style='margin:5px'></a></center>

    When the phone icon shows up, press it and select your number from your phone book. In this picture, I have the Sony clipped to the rubber pin cover. When I'm riding, I plan on velcroing the sucker to the shelf. This should help keep it dry.





    <center><a href='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/show_photo.php?p=11/03/06/1625.jpg'><img src='http://photo.blogpressapp.com/photos/11/03/06/s_1625.jpg' border='0' width='227' height='281' style='margin:5px'></a></center>

    Once you synch the Sony to the headset, you can also use it with an ipod. The headphone Jack clicks into the iPod (zune, etc) and your ready
    #25
  6. RonkoRider

    RonkoRider Wrong Island, NY Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,842
    Location:
    Middle of Suburban Hell- Long Island, NY
    Sorry folks, wifey is on the computer and I'm trying to copy and paste from my blog via an Ipad.

    When I can get on the computer, I will cut and paste the photolinks here.

    The link to my blog is below if you can't wait to view some of my cheesy photos describing this process.
    #26
  7. OkieTom

    OkieTom Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Oddometer:
    698
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
    I just downloaded the new update from Cardo for my G4 and it is much better now, Does anyone else have a HTC Evo + Zumo 550 + Scala G4 ?? I am now having trouble keeping my Evo connected to the Zumo. When it works it is the ultimate set-up, only drawback is the Evo will rarely stay connected to the Zumo. Any suggestions ????
    #27
  8. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,521
    Location:
    San Diego
    Couldn't fix the first one, sorry.
    #28
  9. OkieTom

    OkieTom Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Oddometer:
    698
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
    LiLt Owner,
    Just wondering why you are using the Sony dongle rather than just pairing the Zumo to your headset ???
    #29
  10. xymotic

    xymotic Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,370
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Zumo only does mono music
    #30
  11. RonkoRider

    RonkoRider Wrong Island, NY Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,842
    Location:
    Middle of Suburban Hell- Long Island, NY
    And it doesn't stream XM through the Bluetooth.
    #31
  12. craigv

    craigv Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Jerzee
    which headset are you using? G4 doesn't pair by holding both volume up & down buttons, seems to me I should hold the mobil button but I'm having no luck.
    #32
  13. RonkoRider

    RonkoRider Wrong Island, NY Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,842
    Location:
    Middle of Suburban Hell- Long Island, NY
    Sorry, you're- volume up and mobile button.

    You have to also press and hold the button on the Sony unit until the two lights switch on and off.

    I had mine paired in a under five minutes.
    #33
  14. craigv

    craigv Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Jerzee
    volume up & mobil give me nothing & the dongle keeps flashing.
    when I try just volume up for 8 seconds, the lights indicate paring, but I get no audio.
    when I try just mobil, same result.

    I've paired other items before, zumo, iphone to the headset no problem.
    #34
  15. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,521
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hold the Volume up button until the light starts blinking reb and blue. Then the G4 is in pairing mode and will pair with the Zumo.
    #35
  16. craigv

    craigv Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Jerzee
    I'm not trying to pair with the Zumo, just the Sony dongle to the Scala G4 to bluetooth XM from the Zumo
    #36
  17. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,521
    Location:
    San Diego
    From the manual:

    So it looks like you press the Mobile button for six seconds and then follow the instructions which came with your dongle.
    #37
  18. craigv

    craigv Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Jerzee
    Thanks,
    I've tried that, a couple of times. Lights indicate pairing is successful, but no music is transmitted.
    If I turn the dongle off & back on, it's lights flash together as if it's not been paired before.
    Just not having any luck at the moment.
    Thanks again.
    GOT IT! ACTUALLY HAD IT THE WHOLE TIME & DIDN'T UNDERSTAND. AFTER IT INDICATES PAIRING YOU NEED TO HOLD THE A/MP3 BUTTON FOR 2 BEEPS (WAS TRYING EVERYTHING) AFTER A CPL SECONDS THE AUDIO KICKS IN
    MAKES A BIG DIFFERENCE IN AUDIO QUALITY
    BUMMER THAT IT SEEMS AS IF IT WILL ONLY CONNECT WITH 1 DEVICE OTHER THAN ANOTHER HEADSET. I'M TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO LISTEN TO MUSIC & GPS THRU DONGLE & STILL BE ABLE TO TAKE CALLS THRU THE ZUMO WHEN NEEDED. HOPING TO FIND A WAY TO SWITCH BACK N FORTH AS IT IS PAIRED TO BOTH AT THE MOMENT
    #38
  19. GSJon

    GSJon Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,930
    Location:
    Chicago
    So can you? Talk on the bhone with this setup (Zumo, Sony BT Dongle & G4)? It does not appear to have been answered yet.

    I'm about ready to get a G4 and I would like to know before I do.
    #39
  20. carlt828

    carlt828 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Oddometer:
    48
    Location:
    Live Oak, TX
    I posted this in another thread on the G4 but here is my experience with it and a Zumo 550:

    When I first got it, I paired the G4 to my Zumo 550 and the 550 to the iPhone 4. Dialing through the phone book uploaded on the 550 was hit and miss, mostly miss. It just wouldn't initiate a call and instead go back to the navigation screen. The 550 also didn't show incoming calls that I missed either. I took the 550 out of the loop and now voice dialing via the G4 worked flawlessly. I had just updated both the iPhone 4 and the Zumo 550 so I don't know which upgrade caused the problem. Before I got the G4 and upgraded the iPhone and 550, they worked well together. I couldn't answer a call but I could see it come up on the gps screen. I updated the G4 right after I bought it too.
    #40